We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star in Birch Run.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“2 star in Birch Run.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

As I start all reviews, please take a look and see how many hotels I've reviewed, I'm not a jaded one time traveler. I travel often and feel I have a good base to write a good overall review. I won this hotel on hotwire and can say that it was a disappointment when you think you're getting a 3 star hotel and you get a 2. but I can't fault the hotel for hotwires poor rating system.
This hotel is very central if you plan on taking in the outlet mall or Frankenmuth. If you have business in Saginaw it is a bit of a drive.
The hotel appears to have been built in the late 90's or early 2000's. The interior now has a tired look and is in need of a renovation. The design of the building is almost funny as to where the elevators are located. Very poorly marked.
All the furniture, carpet and walls are in fair condition. The room was clean as were all public areas. My door did not feel very secure and the for some reason the bathroom door needs to always remain closed due to where they installed the heat lamp?
The room has a fridge and micro as well as a flat screen. Which is very nice to have.
Parking was not an issue but the lighting out there was not the best.
The workout room was lacking to say the least. This is an area of disappointment. It was small and equipment was not in good condition.
The morning breakfast is good, I think this is one area Holiday Inn Express hits the nail on the head. Lots of very good food but as with most "free buffet" style please go crazy and act as if they are starving.
The staff were very warm and friendly. In the end would I stay here again? No. There are many other hotels that are higher quality for the same price. Thinking I was getting a 3 star and getting this, I was disappointed but this is a solid 2 star perhaps a 2.5 if you're looking to take advantage of the pool / spa area. Happy travels Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthieu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I believe that your stay was a disappointment to you, but unfortunately I didn't know in what aspect we didn't meet your expectations. If it was regarding the architecture of the building, I would like to mention that we had an complete renovation just a couple of years ago. if you were disappointed because your door was not secure, I would like to know if you were able to use the door lock and the latch or not, because I personally inspect rooms on a regular basis and that's the first 2 items the housekeeping manager and I check when we enter the guest rooms for inspection.

Finally, I would like to I have a chance to discuss with you in a concise way what went wrong with your stay with us, so we can improve and avoid having dissatisfied guests in the future, with that being said, feel free to contact me at (989)624-9300.

Warm Regards,

Andy Benameur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    96
    34
    9
    12
See reviews for
92
81
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Our four couple family get together could not have been any better!! Excellent service from the minute of reserving to the complimentary breakfast on the morning of our departure. Very clean, great location and quiet atmosphere is what we were looking for and we received all of it. Special thanks to Mr. Andy Benameur and his staff for all the special little things that they did to make our stay most enjoyable. We are already planning a return trip this summer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy1tun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure serving you and your family during your gathering. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Birch Run, we pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized service and friendly atmosphere when they're away from home and we won't be satisfied unless they're %100 satisfied with their stay.
We look forward to your return trip this summer( By the way I still owe you a cup of Coffee-lol)


Warm Regards,

Andy Benameur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Perfect for a Shopping Retreat-The place was clean and well taken care of and all of the staff we met with greeted us with a smile and and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. The Hot Tub open till 10 p.m. was a great way to relax at the the end of the day and the price was hard to beat and the location was Ideal for Birch Run and the Shops at Frankenmuth!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Daisy,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I'm glad that we have met your expectations and if there's anything I can assist you with during a future stay, feel free to let me know.

Warm Regards,

Andy Benameur(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This Holiday Inn is clean and well-kept, but they should be careful. I called to book the hotel and was met with an ungracious person on the other end of the phone who seemed too busy to make my reservation. I called back twice, and even suggested that she called ME back, but that was not an option. I am a Platinum Priority Club member, and ended up calling Priority Club directly to make the reservation, and this is the only reason I stayed at this location...otherwise I would have called the nearby Comfort Inn to book there.
Once we arrived, however, our stay was adequate. Front desk clerk was nice (different one than answered the phone), and the manager was apologetic about his rude staff member.
Buffet breakfast is not good (not fresh, limited choices), but considering it's free, I wouldn't really complain.
Room was clean, and we got a good night's sleep during our shopping trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor room. The hallways on the 2nd & 3rd floors are BRUTALLY hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Some friends and I recently stayed here and found it very enjoyable! Regina and Meghan had great restaurant reccomendations and were funny and friendly along with the breakfast girl and even the maids. Rooms were clean and comfy. I wouldn't hesitate to go back next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flintgirlinTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Run
1.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Birch Run
Comfort Inn Birch Run
#4 of 7 in Birch Run
278 reviews
9.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
9.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy, Birch Run, MI 48415-9309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing