We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service, great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Service, great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn and the location was picture perfect right off the expressway. There were many restaurants within walking distance, there were way to many stores for shopping and there was even a movie theater down the block. The price was just right for us, our trip was for a wedding and most of the wedding guests over paid for their stay. What we spent for 2 days, was musch less then the cost of their 1 day stay. With todays economy, folks need to spend a little more time researching for deals... We drove 12 minutes to get to the ceremony and reception.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
So glad to hear we met our goal of service and value. Thank you for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    27
    18
    29
See reviews for
44
31
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

It was very clean and I got the reservation from price line at 49 a night and the front desk actually gave it to me for 44$ a night. Very clean room no breakfast but that's ok for the price. Close to lots of stores and eating places

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank drew0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for the comment. We always try to be the best dollar to dollar value in the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The staff was very friendly, room was clean and comfortable, wi-fi worked well.The price was very good several restaurants, gas stations nearby with easy access on and off the expressway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
I'm happy everything was to your approval. I thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We found plenty of tractor-trailer parking in the rear of the hotel, as well as it was pet-friendly at no extra fee. (In fact, all Red Roofs are pet friendly and pets stay free.) The front desk was very accomodating with giving us a room close to the truck and meeting all our needs. Internet service was excellent in all rooms. And there is a pancake restaurant next door for breakfast. We found the room to be neat, clean, odor free, and spacious. Even the cat was happy there! Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
WOW! Thank you so much for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Well, there are pros & cons to this place. In the first place, it's not a hotel, it's a motel: you drive right up to your room and park outside your door.
Pros: The desk clerk was friendly, if not downright flirtatious, but perhaps he was just trying to make conversation (or get a date). The room was very clean, and the bed neatly made up. The grounds are also very clean. The mattress (the part that I slept on) was very firm and comfortable.
Well, that's about it for the pros.
Cons: The parking lot is in horrid condition: deep, staggering potholes everywhere and cracked, badly scarred paving throughout. The building has seen better days...maybe it looked good thirty years ago (and only thirty years ago). The office is extremely difficult to find; it's not marked, and I had to walk around the entire building before I found it. The towels were not the best quality: rough & scratchy (I usually bring my own, which really helped on this trip). The mattress had NOT BEEN TURNED (a big pet peeve). The side nearest the nightstand was very depressed; I had to sleep on the other side of the bed.The air-conditioner decided to fall apart during the night, and stopped working completely. It then proceeded to leak water all over the carpet; I had a huge puddle under it the next morning when I awakened. When I brought this to the attention of the checkout clerk, she really didn't seem to car. Well, it's been a hot summer, she said. Well, guess what honey, that's not my problem...but apparently maintenance didn't seem to be her problem, either.
The BIGGEST CON OF ALL is the price they charged me for the room: $86.00 USD. Bloody unbelievable, and completely outrageous. They should be charging $26.00 USD and be grateful. This place is OVERPRICED AND NOT WORTH THE BOTHER.

Room Tip: Air-conditioners break down often. The towels are rough. Mattresses are not turned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaobello552001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBlock, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Corrective measures have been taken to repair the a/c and the parking lot issues. As for our rate, I can assure you that if you do a price comparison for the area you'll find we are very fairly priced for the market. Please know that I value you as our guest and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benton Harbor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
5.5 km away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 11 in Benton Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 km away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Property: Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing