We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Williams Inn(Williamstown)
US$173
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchards Hotel(Williamstown)
US$222
US$200
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willows Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northside Motel(Williamstown)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamstown Motel(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkshire Valley Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAPLE TERRACE MOTEL(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkshire Hills Country Inn(Williamstown)(Great Value!)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
130
28
12
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
28
12
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacethe pubwicker furnitureliving socialbreakfast preparedjet tubprivate breakfastbabbling brookpersonal chefcomfortable couchnice place to relaxtwo night staythe check in processsitting areafour poster bedthree nightsmotel style
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Service
Value
Cleanliness
Dining
Stayed On: 3/2009


My wife surprised me with an overnight stay at the 1896 House in Williamstown. We may now have the spot where we'll celebrate both of our birthdays in years to come, and maybe other events as we enjoy the area. Each of the staff we encountered were warm and hospitable. We stayed in one of their suites and it was impeccably decorated, spacious and clean. Jacuzzi tub, robes and slippers, canopy bed, fireplace...the room was a feast to look at. When we visited the pub, Becky, our waitress joined in singing "Happy Birthday" to me and was friendly and professional...and the meal was great...we understand the chef won't part with the recipe for the glazed carrots! We asked. The whole meal was very, very good. The next morning, at our breakfast prepared and served by Delores, we were treated as though she had been our private chef for years...she is instantly friendly and a talented cook. And, awaiting me on the breakfast table was a birthday card from Denise and Sue, and the staff at the 1896, and a gift of chocolates. Everything was first class. In the midst of this, I had misplaced my car keys, and Denise and Sue set about, with Delores, to make a search of the places where I might have lost them. When I did find them, (they had slipped into a bag where they didn't belong) the downside was that we had car keys to leave...we thought we could use the excuse to stay another day...or a week. Being in the hospitality business for over 30 years, I can tell you that I will be recommending the 1896 House in Williamstown to many, including family and friends that we'd like to take there. There is plenty to do in the area, too...I think a great spot for couples and families! We'll go back for sure. Check out the rates; a great value

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monheganartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

recommend the Barnside Suites - we stayed in #201, Early American, which was very nice and large. All the suites have gas fireplaces. The bathroom had a 2 person whirlpool tub, but you'll have trouble with the separate shower if you're claustrophobic and/or carrying a few extra lbs. The way the tv and bed are positioned, 2 people cannot comfortably watch tv while both are in bed. A full breakfast is provided for those staying in the suites. A delightful lady named Dolores did the cooking honors. Happily, we like everything because there was only one hot entree (omelette one day, waffles the next). Every day there was fruit, plain yogurt, granola + 1 other cereal (looked like special K), cold cuts & cheese, bread/toast, bagels, juice, coffee, tea - one day also had cranberry scones to die for, the other day incredible cranberry muffins. In addition to being a sweetie, Dolores can bake up a storm. There is a restaurant on the premises, the '6 House Pub. The food is similar to a 99 Restaurant, but the atmosphere is much nicer - very quaint and cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed in the Barnside suites. There was a two-person jacuzzi tub that was heavenly. The suite was so romantic with the fireplace and the warm soft bed. Breakfast was included which was delicious. Williamstown was charming with many great restaurants and fun shops. It was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adofk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Our drive to the 1896 Inn was a pleasurable journey on the Mohawk Trail. We came across two beautiful deer in Charlemont and were greeted by two lovely airedales at the Inn in Williamstown. We so enjoyed staying at the 1896 Inn. The fireplace, whirlpool tub, and king size bed were nicely complimented by the period furnishings and tasteful decor. Our choice of the roses, chocolate, and champagne, (the Cherish package) was the perfect touch. Our visit to The Clark and MOCA, while we were there, was only transcended by our wonderful dinner at the 6' Pub. Breakfast at the 1896 Inn was a pleasant surprise. Cheerful Dolores' belgian waffles were a great way to start the day. Our dessert was our magical stroll back to our suite by the gentle bubbling brook in the fresh fallen snow.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KATSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I found this hotel on the website originally, then decided to stay in another town and after staying two nights in a place that wasn't very nice, drove further up the road to try the 1896 House and wished we had stayed there for the three nights we were away instead of only one night, but the night we stayed was wonderful! The owners and their staff were very welcoming. The accomodations were luxurious, with a fireplace, sitting area, sectioned bath areas, a porch, where we sat and looked at the stars. The restaurant that is on property is down to earth classy. Very reasonable rates, excellent service and food. The breakfast that was included with our room was a wonderful experience - the woman running it was so nice and pleasant - she really seemed to enjoy her role in making the guests feel special. And we did. This is a place we will definitely stay at again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVISLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews