We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Friendly Visit

We stopped by to take a peek at the the hand made ceramic pottery. This is a lovely out of the way... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2017
Bill M
,
Kerrville, Texas
Unique and Captivating Pottery

Stopped in as this was on our list of places to check out in the area. Both of us bought some nice... read more

Reviewed 18 October 2015
rousseaj
,
Shrewsbury, MA
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
5
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews out of the way the owner hand shop road
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Very beautiful hand made pottery. She will ship to your home. If you do not see a color you like will make in color pattern she has.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank dsamelko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Came here on referral and so glad we did. We purchased a gorgeous bowl that sits on our bar overlooking the whole of newly designed kitchen and family room. Enjoyed chatting with Elaine Hoffman, such a delightful talented woman.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Freja3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Stopped in as this was on our list of places to check out in the area. Both of us bought some nice pieces. I enjoyed the bright "Crayola crayon" colored pattern and got a pen/pencil holder and matching soup mug for my daughter studying to be a teacher. Perfect gift!
My friend got herself a berry bowl and a lovely pottery bell for her outdoor porch as well as a small plate for a gift. All pieces were very different and we are quite happy with our purchases.
Very unique and different types of work to choose from.
Elizabeth is a pleasure to speak with and loves what she does.
We did both agree that prices were a bit more expensive (About $5 -10 per piece on average for smaller pieces) than what we expected, especially when you drive out to the studio.
But we'd definitely stop by again if we were in the area!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank rousseaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stopped there today to see what they had to offer. We were extremely impressed..
They way her pottery was displayed made it easy to shop. Her workmanship was wonderful, and the prices excellent. For this quality merchandise you would pay a lot more in any type of shop. Yes, we bought items to take back to Florida.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hoffman Pottery is located on the property (presumably attached to the house) of the artist - so you feel exactly like you're pulling into someone's driveway when you go. The shop is set up to be open to visitors without having to be fully staffed - so you ring a bell and go in and the lights come on. It's a small shop, and clearly a very personal enterprise.

I'm a little introverted by nature, so this was very upclose and personal but I'm glad I went. Her pottery is lovely, with some unique patterns and color combinations I enjoyed. I do agree w/ some of the other reviews that it is definitely on the pricey end for pottery, and one does feel some pressure to buy in such a one on one environment. But I enjoyed the shop and can certainly recommend it to anyone who enjoys handmade items and personal artistry. If you just want some nice mugs at a good price this probably isn't the shop for you. But if you like individual pieces, and enjoy buying directly from the artist in her own studio, you'd probably really enjoy a stop here.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank EMBMaryland_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews