We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Construction” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Construction”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

There is street constriction going on in the middle of the night. I was told at the desk that the entire side of the hotel away from the construction was under renovation. Sounds like a hotel about to go out of business to me. After all who would stay at a hotel you can't sleep in. Service desk was unapplogetic.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    125
    68
    26
    23
See reviews for
159
63
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel wasn't bad, until I had someone in the next room. I could clearly hear their entire conversation. Yikes! Fortunately, that only happened for 2 nights. Also, I was there during Hurricane Irene and hoped that they might provide some food in the afternoon since everything was closed, but they looked at me like I was nuts! I walked across the street to the Mariott for dinner. Bed and pillows were ok. Great view of the lake from the 6th floor room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our family (two adults, two kids) stayed here for 3 days in August, 2011. Previously, we'd stayed at the Holiday Inn Express next door, and we'd loved it. This time, however, it was full, so we tried the Best Western. The BW is somewhat cheaper, but the absolute only thing that was reflected in was the breakfast, which lacks meat products and the famous cinnamon buns of the Holiday Inn Express. In all other ways, the BW was the same or superior. Large, clean rooms, very pleasant atmosphere in the lobby and among the other guests, etc. The BW might be said to have a more luxurious, grander lobby area, and as the hotel has 6 floors, it is a bit larger and has a slightly more "luxurious" feel to it. Kids also tend to love elevators, so that's another plus. The staff in both establishments is impeccable, but the breakfast room in the BW is roomier and has more and more comfortable seating, which makes breakfast an easier experience. In contrast, the Holiday Inn Express next door has a better breakfast, but it¡s a bit more cramped and casual which some people might actually prefer, as it's more like a coffee shop and even has some outdoor tables. The BW's breakfast room is more like a restaurant, and hence suited our needs better (isolating noisy and sometimes ill-behaved children from the other guests!). Again, my husband missed the sausages, bacon and cinammon buns of the Holiday Inn Express, but the rest of us don't eat as much for breakfast as he does, and there were plenty of bagels, make-them-yourself waffles, muffins, yogurt (with granola and dried cranberries to top it off with!), apples, bananas, and hard-boiled eggs to fill up on for us.
Our room had a mini-fridge and even a balcony with a sort-of view of trees and whatnot, which was ideal for my husband to go out on to smoke, as it was a no-smoking room. I only wish the room had had a microwave to heat up dinners in, (the Holiday Inn Express doesn't, either), but the front desk will oblige if you bring your food down there. This part is a bit embarrassing and awkward, as they take your food and manipulate it for you in the microwave, and everyone knows what you're eating (including the other guests checking in or out at the same time), and you don't feel comfortable making special, idiosyncratic requests of the recepcionist as to the heating and turning-over of your food. Then you have to go up in the elevator with a tray of steaming, fragrant food, which is also a bit embarrassing. But, oh well.
The BW, lest I forget, also has a pleasant, clean indoor pool, which the kids had fun in and which is great for relaxing after a long car trip.
All in all, this place is practically perfect if it weren't for the microwave issue. The Holiday Inn Express lets you heat up things yourself in the breakfast room mike, which at least avoids the embarrassment experienced. Having said that, we would choose the BW over its neighbour HIE for the reasons mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the BW TLC very briefly to ready ourselves for a relocation. The decor was straight out of the 1980s. My bigger issue was with the cutting of corners to save money. There was no mattress pad on the bed, which felt strange and seemed unsanitary. The breakfast was rather gross with lots of junky choices and it was all served on paper plates- cheap, cheap, cheap. Plus- they had a tv on throughout breakfast in a very central spot broadcasting CNN. This was a rather inappropriate choice for the young children about who had to learn about a plane crash, amusement park ride crash, etc. Seemed like bad decisions were made throughout by management. I would definitely not stay at this hotel again even for a brief time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oaktobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

They were very organized, food was very good, and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElissaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waltham hotels
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.3 km away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
0.4 km away
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
0.1 km away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel
Address: 380 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451-8700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Waltham
#5 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN TLC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waltham
Waltham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing