We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveller rating
586
376
157
79
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
376
157
79
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main dining room front porch new england norman rockwell historic hotel rocking chairs prime rib turkey dinner maple glen uneven floors country curtains main street antique furniture people watching step back in time the main hotel resident cat
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We spent one might in the Maple Glen building as part of a week long trek across New England. Our room was great, with apple chargers, heated bathroom floors, a deep soaking tub and faux fireplace. If I had one criticism it would be the tv (an in room channel list and non-mouse like remote would have made the room perfect). Norman was a great treat.

Room tip: Maple glen was great
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Goober818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorganR1284, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for the nice review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Maple Glen, and hope that you will visit us again in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

The hotel is located at a busy intersection which, while not in New York City, isn't what you want in a quaint New England town. We had a room facing the back, but here we were subjected to the noise from the fan in the hotel's laundry room. Very annoying. We can't recommend the Red Lion, because we think there are better charming New England Inns, and many that don't show nearly 250 years of use. Go on up to Vermont and dig around instead.

Room tip: Don't be near the laundry room fan noise. The Fire House is excellent, quite a hoot, and around the corner from the busy street.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rchard PB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

I will premise this review by stating that if you love old historic charm in a Norman Rockwell setting then you MUST stay at the Red Lion Inn. Its like staying in a museum without having to ever leave. From the creaky uneven floors to the antique furnishings its a wonderful visit back in time. However, if this is not your thing, stay elsewhere. The Red Lion Inn has been in the same location, in some capacity, since 1733. It is located right in the heart of Stockbridge Massachusetts. We visited In October, a perfect time of year to visit. The Inn has a huge front porch complete with the required rocking chairs and wicker furniture to sit and enjoy the foliage and scenery. Two HUGE pumpkins sit out front during the fall, each well over 1200 pounds! This makes quite the impression when one arrives. Foliage season is a very busy time at the inn and it showed as it was extremely busy both days we were there. The room we had was very big, with a private balcony and big bay windows. A king size bed with old style privacy curtains along with two comfy easy chairs in the bay window were the center pieces of the furnishings. A gas fireplace was also in the room with an antique rocking chair perfectly placed in front. All the furniture was antique. Bathroom was very clean and had a great shower with excellent water pressure. Plenty of towels were provided, nice and thick and fluffy, Robes were also provided in the ample closet. Only complaint here was a metel access panel in the ceiling of the bathroom showed alot or rust, and needed to be painted. All rooms are air conditioned but ours, at least, took a long time to cool the room. This could be a problem in the summer months. The Inn has a Heated outdoor Pool and HOT TUB that are both open all year long. They even have a nice Pool House that has its own little snack bar, changing rooms and rocking chairs for the summer months. The Inn has two restaurants, and two separate bars for dining and entertainment. The main dining room is the center piece of the Inn, providing typical New England fare for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I will provide a review of the dining room experience separately. We dined here one night for dinner and my wife had breakfast one morning. The Norman Rockwell museum is a mere 8 minute drive down the road and is obviously a must see when visiting as one of his most famous paintings is of Main Street in Stockbridge during Christmas time. It is quite an experience to walk down the same street one has seen in the painting and realize it has not changed since he painted it. There is plenty of free parking though when its busy, one may have to search for it as the Inn has three to four other houses on the compound that one can rent for functions as well. All in all it was a very nice experience that I would recommend. But again, only if you wish to go back in time. If you are looking for present day luxury for your stay, go elsewhere as you will be disappointed and it will not be fair to the Inn. One last annoyance to mention, apparently due to the location of the Inn in Stockbridge it is on a main semi truck line to and from the Mass Turnpike and other main highways. Large trucks go by the inn constantly which takes away from the old town experience for us. A by pass would help greatly.

Room tip: request rear of the hotel as the truck noise going by the front is constant.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I just popped in to see if a room was available. We were given a nice, clean room with 2 double beds. It had all of the amenities needed including a claw foot bathtub/shower. I love antiques so found this hotel charming. The staff couldn’t have been nicer and very accommodating. Yes it’s old but I find that charming! Be sure to visit the Norman Rockwell Museum.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank anncmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

...that could use some help. Although the atmosphere is kind of like every grandmother's house rolled into one big hotel with it's very own "house cat (Norman)", the place needs some TLC. The history of this place, the well-worn carpets, the plethora of antiques are all charming. The charm fades, however, when walking along a hallway and noticing that the doors don't always fit the door jambs due to the building settling, the floors can sag and tilt, and the creaking stairs gives one pause. There is a lot of potential here that is sadly not realized.

We only ate in the dining room once...breakfast our first full day. The corned beef hash had two LARGE chunks of fat/gristle which was quite unappealing. We did have dessert one evening in "Mrs Bingham's Tavern" and it was lovely. The dessert in "The Lion's Den" not so much.

We had a suite consisting of a bedroom/bathroom and a small sitting room (which had a door to the hall and also to the room opposite of us). We were away from the street so traffic noise wasn't a problem, but we could hear the bass from the music being played in the Lion's Den at night, even with our white noise sound machine. Wifi service was spotty and not all that reliable when it did work.

I'd love to say we'd be back, but not sure the price is worth it.

Room tip: Ask for a room that is not in the main part of the hotel over the lobby and basement pub.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews