We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Cape Cod

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Inn Cape Cod
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Clarion in mid September for a weekend getaway. The rooms were well kept and the beds comfortable and clean. Although we didn't use it, they have a nice indoor and outdoor pool that looked fun.

Room Tip: First floor rooms that face-in the have easy access to the outdoor pool through the sliding door in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missmel1, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Cape Cod, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Chris F,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property after your recent stay.
The fall is such a great time to visit the Cape and it sounds as if you had a nice stay here with us and visit to Cape Cod. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    94
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
109
109
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for one night and have family that always stays here too for short trips. Check-in was a breeze, but they charge $20 extra for pool/courtyard facing rooms. Which is worth it because you get the balcony areas for "hanging out" while kids are sleeping.
Hotel is nicely remodeled and I felt comfortable on the beds and wonderful pillows. I'm a hotel snob, and this place was just fine for me.

What I did not like was the floor plan. When you enter the room you actually enter the bathroom sink area, WEIRD. the toilet & shower is to the left in and enclosed area. then you have the room with the two double beds. What sucks about this is that one can not get ready in the mo9rning without disturbing others (which is tough when you have sleeping kids. there is no door separating the bathroom counter area from the room. I found this the oddest layout I have stayed in.

Breakfast - They have a continental, but you still have to sit down and ask for it. the "restaurant" room offers cooked breakfast for a restaurant price which is outrageous because it isn't really a restaurant. My point...Go across the street and eat breakfast, well worth it.

Pools were great. They really do have a GREAT indoor pool area and the kids enjoyed it. There is also a hot-tub in there.

So my final opinion is The hotel is nicely remodeled & Kept clean. Weird floor-plans. I only wish they had one room suites. I would stay again and recommend it; Bu I still rather rent a home & Condo and stay here just for a night or two; especially in the cooler weather.

Room Tip: Get the balacony room if you want to have a drink or chat while kids sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for our vacation and what a nice surprise this hotel turned out to be. It is an older hotel that has been redone and very recently from the looks of things. We had a great first floor room with a sliding glass door that opened out onto a small patio with chairs. The patio looked out into the beautifully landscaped grounds with lots of hydrangeas. The hotel layout is in a U shape around a fenced in pool. It was so nice for relaxing in the gorgeous Cape Cod weather. The decor of the room was very nice. It was well decorated and had a large computer desk, a pullout couch, which was very comfortable to sit on and a large new tv. We had a refrigerator, but no microwave. The hotel serves breakfast, but no other meals. There is a Hearth and Kettle restaurant right across the street and many additional restaurants a short drive away. We stayed 6 nights and hated to leave. .

Room Tip: We preferred our ground floor room to the second floor with balconys. Walkout access to the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvthebeach012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our 3rd trip to the Clarion and once again, we were not disappointed. As all the other reviews stated, the staff goes above and beyond to make sure you are happy. It's pretty amazing to think that an employer can find so many great employees - a sign of great management! And, why is ist some hotels seem to have the worlds worst employees! We had two connecting rooms each with 2 double beds and the rooms were good siized and could easily have fit a single air mattress for a 5th person/child.
We were a bit disappointed at check-in to discover that they no longer serve a complimentary continental breakfast. But, the hotel staff, grounds, pools etc. made up for it and we didn't mind. We went to the grocery store and bought muffins, juice, milk and cereal to eat in the room and the lobby serves complilmentary coffee 24/7. We had brought along paper plates, bowls etc. which we always do just in case!
They hotel now has a breakfast room and a small greenhouse seating area that serves made-to-order breakfast food and serves as a bar later in the day. We did not try the breakfast but it seemed to be very busy every morning. The lobby also offers premade fruit/yogurt cups, sandwiches and a few salads, muffins, ice cream and snacks along with a microwave. At the outdoor pool you can order luch from a small little snack bar that is very reasonable and everything is cooked to order - burgers, dogs, grilled chicken, salads, and cold sandwiches. Everything we tried was vey good, hot and hit the spot! There are plenty of umbella tables to enjoy your lunch. We brought our own soft-sided cooler with soft drinks and got ice from the ice machine at the indoor pool. We saw many people who had their own snacks, beverages and even making their own sandwiches. Many other people ordered lunch from local restaurants and brought it back to the pool. Directly next door is Cape Cod Creamery - a local favorite ice cream shop - very busy at night and a great place to walk to with kids!
The outdoor pool area is extremely well kept, clean, appealing and up-to-date with new lounge chairs and umbrellas. We were there during a very hot week and never had a problem getting chairs but we were not there on the weekend. the only problem with the pool is the water is very cold and Id find it hard to believe it was heated. I love a pool and it was hot so I didn't mind going in, but it was very gradually! There is also a very nice shaded gazebo area.
In the afternoon a local woman came to the pool dressed as a Sea Princess to teach the kids about sea shells! She was dressed in all white with sea shells in her hair and in her clothes. She would sit down with the kids and explain the shells and then tell them what beaches to comb in search of the shells. She was very quiet, nice and the kids seemed to like her. She gave them shells before she left as quietly as she appeared - all free of charge. I can only imagine at the Chatham Bars Inn they would charge $25 to "Meet the Sea Princess" - lol!
The indoor pool is very appealing and has lots of lounge chairs. It also has a hot tub. Believe me, if you are vacationing on Cape Cod with kids and it rains YOU WILL WANT AN INDOOR POOL. This indoor pool is very inviting and isn't creepy like some indoor pools can be. It has a poured stone flooring and not that gross green fake grass that so many indoor pools have that seem to be growing mold! Even on hot days, kids were in the indoor pool.
The hotel offers discounted tickets to beaches. We purchased a one day pass to any Yarmouth Beach for $10.50 and at the beach the same pass was $15. They offer passes to other towns also, We could have used the pass at ANY Yarmouth Beach, but we chose Bass River Beach which is only a few minutes from the hotel. It has a huge parking lot, bath rooms, snack bar and is located on a strip where there are many hotels and homes.
The hotel rooms are very recently renovated - at least since I was here about 1.5 yrs. ago, New carpet, new flat screen tv, new beds, furniture, draperies and granite counters. The bathroom has a toilet, shower and tub behind one door. The sink area is located directly as you walk into the room and has tons of space and includes a small refrigerator. this is a very good set up for sharing a bathroom among 3-4 people.
There rooms are located either facing the parking lot sides of the building or facing the pool grounds. The ones facing the pool have an outdoor patio with chairs and are very nice, esepcially if you are on the ground floor and can walk out the door to the pool. The 2nd floor rooms have an open air balcony. I believe these rooms are around $20 more per night and fill up very quickly. Oh, and the hotel offers fee wi-fi, even at the pool. One night I was able to sit out at the pool and plug my laptop into the outlet at the snack bar - so nice to sit outside on a beautiful night and catch up on email.
The hotel also has a bar, but we did not purchase any drinks there as we brought our own and there is a great liquor store right up the road from the hotel.
The hotel is in a very good location making it quick and easy to get to Hyannis or in the other direction over the Bass River Bridge to West Dennis, Harwich and Chatham.
I grew up summering on Cape Cod and have stayed in many of the higher end hotels and resorts. Unless you absolutely have to stay in an oceanfront hotel, this is a great choice. Beware that many oceanfront hotels have a musty smell in the rooms from their proximity to the water. This smell is very hard to get out of your clothes and goes home with you. You will pay at least $200 more per night for an oceanfront hotel and it may not have an indoor pool.
If you are looking for a family dinner of the fried clams variety the only choice is Kreme n Kone in West Dennis (corner of 28 and134) - they have been the best for years and can't be beat. Another great choice is The Skipper in South Yarmouth across the street from the beach and if you sit on the 2nd floor deck you have a great beach view. Their early bird specials until 6pm are awesome - so good that we went back the next night!
Please feel free to ask me any other quetions about the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BELGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Have stayed at the Clarion twice in the past year and can't beat the amenities (beautiful indoor and outdoor pools; bar; delicious breakfasts) AND the nicest, most accommodating people ever- from the front desk folks to Tom, the barkeep, to Nancy, the kitchen manager. Loved them all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
5.3 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.4 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 km away
Ambassador Inn and Suites
Ambassador Inn and Suites
#19 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.3 km away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Cape Cod

Property: Clarion Inn Cape Cod
Address: 1199 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4457 (Formerly All Seasons Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#6 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Cape Cod 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn, South Yarmouth convenient Mid Cape location and close to many of Cape Cod’s best golf courses, beaches and numerous other vacation activities. Deluxe accommodations, with heated indoor and outdoor pools, private courtyard, whirlpool, sauna, business center, full service breakfast restaurant on site and free wireless internet throughout. Our staff is committed to making your stay a memorable one.Open year round, 100% smoke free and supports green practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Clarion Inn Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn South Yarmouth Hotel South Yarmouth
Clarion South Yarmouth
Clarion Hotel South Yarmouth
Clarion Inn Cape Cod South Yarmouth, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing