We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a day on Nantucket Sound”

Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Power boat rentals on site in the water ready to go. Also a full service boat yard on The Bass River,Cape Cod, one mile from Nantucket Sound. Evinrude and Suzuki outboard sales, Mercruiser repairs. Home of Cape Cod Power Boat Rentals
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We rented their 24 foot Boston Whaler for 8 people (4 adults and 4 kids). There was room enough for everyone and our supplies and fishing gear. We visited the south shore of the cape from the Bass river to the west side of Monomoy. We caught blues around Monomoy and saw a bunch of birds and fish activity along the way. We saw a small heard of seals near the west shore of Monomoy. At the end of the day we cruised the Bass River up to the High Bank Bridge. The kids and adults had a great time.

The boat was in very clean and in good shape. Had good power even with 8 on board. The staff was very helpful in explaining the equipment and operation of the boat. Pick up and drop off was very convenient and easy.

Thank aladd0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boatguy1, Owner at Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks ! Sounds like you had a great day. Our rental crew does their best to ensure a fun day on the water.
Come back again !
Thanks again,
Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend Ship Shops. We are been coming to the Cape for our whole lives, decided to rent a boat with our 20 something kids to see if it was something we might like to do as a family. The folks at Ship Shops are very informative, very knowledgeable and very professional. Eight of us went and had the best day of the summer - luck of the weather too. Highly highly recommend.

Thank cakertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boatguy1, Owner at Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thanks for the thumbs up ! Our crew tries to make it easy and fun.
Hope to see you back again.
Marty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The five of us came to the Cape to celebrate our twins 16th Birthday. One of their surprises was a full day on a boat of our own. We rented from Ship Shop and everything from reserving the boat to turning it back in was so easy, Got there early and boarded our 20' bow rider. We were given a great how to and directions on where to go up and down the river. After about an hour at sea, we tried our luck at some fishing. We didn't have much luck with the fish but did peak the interest of a seal. She took a look at us and then went on her way. We decided to head back and spend some time at a nearby beach. All was great until we realized that it was low tide and there was no way to get our boat out of the sand; even with the help of so many wonderful people who stopped and offered their assistance. A special thank you to all of you!! We then contacted Ship Shops and told them of our problem and within no time they came out to help us. They had to call for a more powerful boat to drag us out and we then we were off. (THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!) Within minutes, the girls were swimming and the guys were fishing. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time and the kids will have a memory that will last a lifetime. We are looking forward to another visit to the Cape and another rental from Ship Shops!

Thank RenatoJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boatguy1, Manager at Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello and thank you for your kind words. After the safety of our guests, our priority is doing all we can to provide an enjoyable experience. Your letting us know how wonderful your time was encourages us to continue to do what we do.
We would love your business in the future and look forward to that opportunity.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Kind regards,
Ship Shops

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

If you are interested in renting a boat while visiting Cape Cod, Ship Shops is the place to do it. The staff is friendly and helpful. They give even novice boaters the instruction to have confidence taking a boat out.
We have rented almost every summer for the past ten years and have always had a great time on the water. The boats are well cared for and the location along the Bass River gives us many options for our excursion. Their flexibility is also a positive. Boats are available for the whole day, half day or two hours.
Pack your sunscreen and a picnic for a wonderful day!

Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We try to rent here once or twice a summer. We have rented everything from a 16ft to 24ft Whaler. The staff is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We can't say enough about Ship Shop, even if you are a beginner, they will set you in the right direction and if you know what you are doing - it's a blast!

Thank Pesky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ship Shops Power Boat Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing