We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
60
31
8
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
31
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rustic charm on thursday nights granola picked this place stage coach beautiful waterfall fresh eggs hiking trails new england we've stayed outdoor pool bagels stagecoach hammocks hike brook tavern
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We could't stay there, Poor access, dirty, room not fit for even one night stay. not at all as seemed from internet info. we expected much more. Very rustic, OK for kids camping
but not for tourists. Off the beaten path, no services near by.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyRBL, Owner at Race Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Donna,

We are sorry you felt our Inn was not suitable for one nights stay. Our location is off the beaten path and about 20 minutes South from Great Barrington where you can find an array of shops, grocery stores, and restaurants. We actually don't offer camping on our grounds. We do find many tourists enjoy access to hiking trails off our property leading to three beautiful waterfalls as you ascend towards the Appellation Trail. We were happy to help you find other accommodations to suit your interests and needs. We hope you enjoyed your time with family in the Berkshires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

First, the good: very, very, quiet. Thick and plentiful towels, plenty of hot water for shower. Wi-fi. Large, full breakfast selection. Sadly, the rest - no fridge (so you pay for a bottle of water), no TV, no overhead fan, no conditioner (only shampoo), no coffee maker, no microwave, soap the size of a postage stamp, water so hot you need to be careful with children as they may scald themselves, damp rooms, incredibly creaky floors and bed, no screens on some windows, 'closet' was a rickety dresser and 4 rusty hangers, and the outdoor pool out of commission coming into a holiday weekend?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank golds2ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyRBL, Owner at Race Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We'd like to apologize for the accommodations you were missing. Next time you visit, if you communicate to the front desk about more soap we would love to replenish you're needs. For conservation purposes our shampoo is a two in one style with conditioner included, but more can be supplied as needed. Fans are available at the front desk upon request as well as microwave access in the lodge kitchen. Also next time, you can find hot coffee available in the main lodge all day. Although no TV is provided in rooms, there is a small TV and couch section in the main lodge for your viewing pleasure.

We apologize for the creakiness and dampness you experienced. Our buildings range from our modern Mountain House and some dating back to the late 1700s. Next time we'd love to show you a variety of our rooms so you can find what it most comfortable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Booked Race Brook Lodge at the start of the autumn season for a New England hiking weekend. What a place! Very simple and rustic. A great B&B when you want to get away and just let the colorful trees and crisp air speak to you.

The rooms are very basic. Floorboards creak, toilets are weak, there is no t.v. A few books and old photographs adorned our suite, which consisted of 2 double beds and separate bathroom. Extremely low-key with no bells and whistles, but if you are okay with quietly reading in the evenings and you do not consider yourself high maintenance..It's quite all right! Wifi connectivity did not appear to be an issue for us.

The grounds are enveloped in leafy trees, has a rustic green house and wonderful common area to have breakfast. This common area is absolutely charming and cozy. We loved having a simple breakfast here! We were surrounded by books and antique country furnishings. The continental breakfast had a nice variety of cereals, bagels/breads/jam, warm muffins, eggs, juices, cheese and fruits. Staff was very friendly and offered to whip up something to your liking :)

The grounds have hammocks to lounge around in (but it was too chilly during our stay) and a trail you could explore that leads into the forest behind it. We did it and it was not bad at all. There is also a function area where they cater to small weddings and events at the back of the property.

The restaurant on the premises is a must do: The Stagecoach Tavern! Absolutely lovely surroundings. The ambiance is warm and historic. Food was scrumptious. Drinks were spot-on. A reservation is a must as it is a popular dinner destination for those not staying at the inn.

I would recommend this inn to couples looking for some solitude and a chance to unplug and be with nature. Autumn is a beautiful time and you are not that far off by car to other trails and other Berkshire towns/sites. If you want a rustic, New-England experience: try Race Brook Lodge. If you have stayed at Red Lion Inn, it is a much more simpler than that - but the restaurant is just on par; if not better.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoardingPass802641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyRBL, Owner at Race Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

The Staff at Racebrook Lodge and Stagecoach Tavern is so grateful for your pleasant experience staying with us. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This place epitomizes what I want when looking to get away from the city to get closer to nature and reset. The ownership and staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. Turndown service was efficient, the common areas were welcoming, and the view is spectacular.

The 'barn' is large enough to handle large groups of people for anything from a small concert to yoga to board meetings. The mountain trails are serene and beautiful.

I can't sing enough praises about the Race Brook Lodge. Definitely worth the short drive from NYC!

Room Tip: Room #2 was cozy and perfect for one. I can see a couple feeling comfortable with the space.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kingludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyRBL, Owner at Race Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much for staying and taking in some of the beauty here at Racebrook Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

A magical place with rustic charm, offers a private setting ideal for a weekend retreat or an easy get away. The space for the retreat was a very cool barn structure with beautiful windows showing the natural landscape. It was a nice combination of rustic but well-constructed and modernized with a lot of charming touches. There was always water and tea for the attendees and there were enough bathroom facilities so everyone was comfortable.

My room was very comfortable and charming. The pillows are really awesome. A couple of different sizes, I really like that.

I found that staff to be really nice and charming. They were helpful and welcoming.

The food was fantastic. It was very tasty and they offered fantastic vegetarian options which were delicious and plentiful.

The Race Brook Lodge is on 100 acres of land and has a beautiful trail right on the property that climb up to a waterfall. The views from this trail are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyRBL, Owner at Race Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

It sounds like you were able to experience many of the accommodations Race Brook has to offer. Thank you for taking time to experience the waterfall trail during your stay! Please come back for more new vegetarian options at The Stagecoach Tavern next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews