We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
132
16
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
16
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great barrington whipped cream terry cloth breakfast was delicious warm hospitality charming room goat cheese old house could not have been more baked apple first morning great hosts beds were comfortable fresh fruit berkshire barn lime
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Staveleigh House is very close to a canoe, the attractions in Great Barrington, and several hiking trails. The inn is very, very clean and well taken care of. The shower in our room was somewhat tight, but as another reviewer said, that's a constraint of the building and not a big deal. Breakfast was fresh and very timely and the inn keepers are friendly and helpful. Access to coffee and tea in the evenings would take this place over the top. I think it's a great value and if we're in the area again, we'll be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rawkctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Wonderful attention to details and great hospitality from innkeepers!
I stayed in Room 7, which was spacious and very nicely furnished. VERY comfortable bed and elegant, crisp bed linens. Spacious bathroom with thick, fluffy towels and (Yeah!) a terry cloth bathrobe! The room and common areas were immaculately clean.
Quiet location and close to all the attraction in the Berkshires as well as in Litchfield County to the south.
Wonderful attention to detail from the innkeepers that makes a stay here very comfortable and welcoming.
Breakfast is fantastic! Fresh fruit, excellent french toast, and a good selection of teas and fruit juices -- this provides a hearty start before a day of sightseeing in the area. The breakfast room is elegant and cheerful, with fresh flowers on each table and crisp tablecloths.
Innkeepers Mike and Chris offer warm hospitality and in-depth knowledge of the area in terms of what to do, see, and where to eat. I will be back again soon! This is a great find in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Room 7 has its own porch and has a spacious bath. It also has a day bed which is great for families.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Nice historical home; welcoming and helpful hosts. Really good breakfasts. We hadn't been to the Berkshires before and our hosts provided lots of good suggestions as well as interesting history of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back have nicer view of th grounds; front rooms get more light but face the street.
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelJournalerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We had an amazing weekend in the Berkshires at Staveleigh House. The room was great and the breakfast was amazing each day. Mike and Chris were great hosts and know the area very well, and gave great recommendations for restaurants, hikes, and ice cream shops!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The innkeepers are sweet and helpful, we enjoyed an excellent breakfast of Nutella and freshstrawberry stuffed French toast with fresh fruit on the side. We stayed in 1 of the 2 pet friendly rooms. They have a nice fenced in grassy dog run that our dog really enjoyed. We hiked during our trip so the dog was with us 80% of the time & stayed in her crate if alone in the room. We would definitely stay again: lovely spot for a quiet weekend!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MartinsTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews