We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad management ruins the place - definitely overpriced”
Review of Econo Lodge Sharon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Sharon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharon
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Okay, we all know that Econolodge offer older hotels for a budget friendly rate. So expectations should be accordingly. The staff often makes the difference, in this case for the worst.

Upon check-in at 4:30pm (so after the indicated 3pm) we entered the room to find it dirty. Receptionist reacted by saying the former clients checked out late (she should have known and asked us to wait from the start...). But then 2 other guests had the same problem, the receptionist gave the same excuse. Ah, a little white lie??

The receptionist just called to the cleaning lady with ever new and changing instructions, thus actually making it for the cleaning staff impossible to work well. Strange again, management should manage, not panic...

Two hours later, the room was ready. The cleaning lady had done a perfect job. Older room, spacious, recently painted so almost spotless.

Check out the next morning with a male receptionist who was constantly phoning in a tropical language while 'attending' clients. Ugh... One of the earlier clients had left a note : "OMG, please help that man" which says all...

I paid 99,99 USD, way too much for the non-existent managerial service. This place actually has potential (rooms, cleaning staff, I even liked the location) but is being ruined by uninterested reception staff and - obviously - a management that has its head elsewhere. What a waste !

Room Tip: 1st floor seemed OK, wifi not working well, avoid to have to deal with the reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wouter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2015

My SO and I were staying here on business. We left the hotel in the middle of the night to drop a load of freight off in Boston. Neither of us had thought we were coming to the hotel again, so we had left the key in the room. However, we ended up finished remarkably quickly, so we drove back to the hotel to get a nap.

We stopped by the front desk at 4:00 AM on Monday morning to get a new key. First off, they didn't have an actual front desk person - just a security officer. He wouldn't come up to the window. He just stood back in the corner and talked to us from a distance, like we were terrifying or something. I'm about 5'4" and around 120 pounds - obviously very threatening.

We had to ask him three different times for a key to our room. Finally, he came up to the window to make a key. I had gotten my ID out of my wallet so he would know who we were, but he never asked. He just asked what room, I told him, and he made a key. He didn't even want to know my name. He had not been there when we checked in the previous day, so he literally just made a key for total strangers with no proof that we were actually staying in a room.

So, hey, if you're looking for a free room, just sneak around this property, see what rooms are empty, and ask the "security guard" for a key. He obviously doesn't pay a bit of attention to whether you're actually staying at the hotel or not.

All sarcasm aside - throw the deadbolt for real if you stay here, just in case security makes someone looking to rob you a key to your room and they try to let themselves in.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calivianya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

If I could give a negative 5... Then I would...
Do yourself a favor and keep looking for someplace else to stay. We stayed here because my nephew had already booked rooms here & we wanted to stay together.

When we got here the "office" is located in a shabby building and the less than courteous clerk is behind plexiglass...With only a small area at the bottom to slide your credit card through. That should have been the first clue...

When I asked about the crib--which was supposed to be in the room --the clerk informed me that they had no record of that request--even though I know I specifically asked for one as I knew we would be traveling with the baby & would need it. The rudest clerk I have ever encountered made it clear there was none available.

The room we got smelled like whoever was here before us had been smoking skunk weed and the smell was so bad there was no way I was staying in that room--so I had to go back to "Miss Congeniality" and ask for a different room--which she told me the didn't have...I knew they did have another room as my brother was also supposed to be staying here & wasn't coming--so they gave me his room.

If it hadn't been for the fact that it had been a long day already-- I would have found somewhere else to go...but with a 6 month old & 2 other tired kids...we stayed in that room since it at least didn't stink.

The A/C was minimal at best and the beds uncomfortable. The room was depressing & everything looked old & worn. Nothing about this place was clean & I was glad to be staying only the one night. It was loud & noisy outside & there are no sound barriers at all so you hear all the road noise as well as everyone who passes by your room.

I took a couple pictures just to show how nasty this place was... The bathtub leaked constantly & was gross...The pictures of the blinds are in the bathroom & looked like they had never been cleaned... I ran a tissue down the middle to show the contrast of the dirt/grime. The cabinet pic is of the sink area and is also disgusting as you can see...

If you don't mind rude people & filthy surroundings--then this is the place to stay... If you're looking for something better... Keep going and pass this place

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank melscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed at this room to attend a concert at Gillette Stadium. It was one of the few less than 3 miles from the stadium and is the only reason I booked it. $189 a night for a very basic 2-star Econo Lodge is ridiculously overpriced. Got there to check-in at 2:45 (only 15 minutes early and most places are ready by then) and was told check-in wasn't until 3:00 and my room wouldn't be clean until after 3:45 which didn't seem fair since I am already overpaying for this hotel and my room isn't even ready when I should be checking at 3:00. Please note, while only 2.7 miles from stadium, it is not recommended to walk there. We did walk home from the stadium, but there is no sidewalk available for half of the walk which is very dangerous with all the traffic. I would never attempt that walk again. Room was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We stayed here for the night so we didn't have to drive home after attending a concert at Gillette Stadium. We arrived right at check-in time and were given our room key, when we arrived at the room is was still being cleaned, we had to wait outside for 20 minutes before it was ready.
The bathroom was the only part of the room that seemed adequately cleaned (at least the counter/sink and toilet area, neither of us used the shower there). While the sheets and blankets did seem clean, there were several cigarette burns in the blanket.
The carpet was gross, very dirty and it seems like there were some parts of the floor that had something wrong under the carpet, there were a lot of uneven parts.
The mini-fridge and microwave were terrible, extremely dirty and rusted.
The wifi worked, but not well. It was just fast enough for me to open e-mails that had mostly text, definitely don't plan on streaming Netflix or anything similar.
Our room was in the front building, the parking is all right up against the building, but no actual spots. If you have a bigger SUV or pickup truck you might have some issues. I would recommend the front building to the back building, just for safety, the back building had a lot of dark, unlit areas and stairwells.

One tip about staying here after attending an event at Gillette: a lot of roads are blocked off, including the left turn off of route 1 to get to the street next to the hotel, so you will have to drive past, then double back to get in.

I would never stay here again. There are several other hotels in the area, some even closer to the stadium. I would 100% recommend spending a little extra money and staying at one of these.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharon
10.2 km away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#2 of 2 in Mansfield
331 reviews
9.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Foxboro
125 reviews
8.9 km away
Hampton Inn Boston-Norwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Foxborough Patriot Place
5 km away
Renaissance Boston Patriot Place Hotel
6.5 km away
Courtyard Boston Norwood/Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Sharon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sharon

Address: 775 Providence Hwy, Sharon, MA 02067-1668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sharon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sharon
Price Range: €60 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sharon 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and friendly service, parking at room door - US RT#1 S Exit #9 ofI-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Sharon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing