As with everything we encountered during our visit to Cape Cod off-season, the Dexter Grist Mill was closed until summer. The mill was built around 1640 and in 1920 converted to a tearoom. The town of Sandwich bought the mill and surrounding area for $6,300 and had it restored in 1961. It has a wooden waterwheel and imported from France mill stones. The mill and mill grounds are very camera friendly.