We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
217
33
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
33
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koi pond yogurt garden room pebble beach long beach third floor yummy breakfast electric fireplace new england bay window small kitchenette helpful hosts local artists adirondack chairs coffee cake beautiful ocean only stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

The Seafarer is a very comfortable B&B. It is just across the street from a lovely cove, so there are water views everywhere. There is a large deck looking at the water, which is perfect for a relaxing breakfast or an afternoon cup of coffee. The center of Rockport is an easy drive or a lovely 20-30 minute walk, including a long segment with unobstructed views.
The rooms are ample sized, although in our room the shower was "cozy." Everything is pristine.
Your hosts could not be more friendly and accommodating.

Room tip: All have views. If climbing stairs are an issue, one room is on the ground floor, but all others are one or two levels up.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

We thank you for the wonderful review. I know readers appreciate details so we are glad you mentioned the shower. Every room has a private bathroom. Our house is an antique, so some or the bathrooms are small. 3 of our bathrooms have stall showers. We have two rooms with large sized showers and one with a claw foot tub and hand held shower. You can see descriptions on our website or call us for details.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we felt comfortable and knew we had made a great decision.

We were greeted by the Innkeepers, Beth and Chris who immediately made us feel welcomed. They explained the ins and outs and showed us to our room. The top floor BR had a comfortable King Bed, a great decor, and an amazing view. The windows looked out over the ocean. They were open and the ocean breeze was blowing in. Fantastic.

Breakfast was served each morning from 8 until 10. There was a great assortment of hot and cold food. Each morning was a fresh fruit assortment, yogurts, parfaits and cold cereal. Hot dishes were home made mini quiches which changed each morning. There were also blueberry pancakes and if you didn’t like or want blueberry the offer to make fresh plain pancakes was extended. On our last day we were treated with Chris’ World Famous French Toast. It was fabulous. There was an assortment of syrups that topped all. Assorted Juices and Coffees completed the experience. I forgot to mention that there were both inside and outdoor tables to eat at.

The outdoor space included a beautiful Koi Pond with pretty fish and a waterfall that just completed the trip to total relaxation. Oh and you could also sit in a comfortable Adirondack Chair and look at the Ocean.

The Seafarer Inn was a pleasant getaway that we would return to again. Speaking if which, we met a couple who were spending their 7th trip there. That should let the Innkeepers know they are doing it right.

Thank you for a great getaway.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rickrusso054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the rave review! We loved getting the change to get to know you both better. We hope you can come back one day. So glad you enjoyed our buffet breakfast! Thanks for mentioning the koi pond. Our pond is surrounded by a man made 'beach' with a view of the ocean. It's a great place to relax with a book or a good friend. Keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Our recent stay at Seafarer B&B was absolutely delightful. When we arrived, we were greeted by the inn keepers, who first showed us where breakfast would be served and explained what to expect and when. Then we were taken to our delightful room were the AC, heating, and tv controls were explained to us. Chris took the time to explain the views each of the windows afforded us. When he was done acquainting us with our room, Chris offered to help carry in our luggage for us. We stayed six nights, so we enjoyed six breakfasts, each one different and each one equally delicious, with soft classical music playing in the background. There was a different quiche each morning. When Beth learned that we enjoyed mushrooms, she made a point of making mushroom quiche the next morning. I enjoyed the Greek yogurt parfait bar while my wife enjoyed the different variety of waffles, pancakes and oatmeal. There was always bacon and sausage for those interested, along with an assortment of juices, coffees and teas to go with our coffee cake. Did I mention fresh fruit? Each morning there was always a tastefully arranged bowl of fresh fruit. Sometimes I was tempted not to disturb it because it was so well done. I am happy to say I did not yield to that temptation but dug in and thoroughly enjoyed it. For us, one of the outstanding features of the Seafarer B&B was the art work from local artists displayed on the walls throughout the bed & breakfast. This was of particular interest to us since my wife’s uncle was an artist in Rockport for many years. We were very pleased to identify one of his pieces hanging in the living room along with many other artists whose names we have become familiar with over the years. I highly recommend The Seafarer B&B for its location, its delicious breakfasts and its gracious hosts without any reservation.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for the great review. I think people who read these want specific information to help them decide what inn is best for them and your review is perfect for that - full of details that people want to know.

We had such a good time with your family, learning more about the Rockport art scene of the past and present. We've been collecting Rockport art since the 80's and love the old stories.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

PROS
-great location
-beautiful location
-VERY CLEAN
-Great hosts
-COMFY bed
-the 2 room suite is very nice
-great view
-great porch

CONS
-Porch needs some heaters for cool evenings
-Breakfast needs help- serving frozen waffles and pre-made quiches is not my idea of a real B&B... offer some home cooked on the spot items... like omelets and real waffles. How about some fresh breads from numerous bakeries!

Room tip: Ask for top floor and 2 bedroom with your own bathroom
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABZ1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your compliments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are a bit baffled at how you thought we were serving frozen food. Our individual crustless quiche is made fresh in our kitchen every day. And the waffles are also homemade, by me on the morning they are served.

Our breakfast is served buffet style. Our guests serve themselves on their own schedule. We offer both hot and cold selections. Most days include our quiche of the day, a sweet entrée like pancakes or French toast, bacon and sausage and also a 'make your own yogurt parfait bar' which includes a selection of yogurt, fresh fruit and toppings like granola, raisins, walnuts, coconut and chocolate chips. In addition, we offer a choice of cold cereals, oatmeal, a selection of breads for toast such as whole wheat, English muffins and raisin bread, several types of fruit juice and a selection of coffee and tea.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

My wife and I have vactioned in Rockport for over 20 years, but this was the first time we stayed at The Seafarer Inn.

We stayed on the third floor in the Long Beach room and had wonderful views of the ocean, Gap Cove, and Straitsmouth Island. We could also see the tops of the Twin Lights on Thacher Island. Our room was tastefully decorated, and our bed was very comfortable.

We stayed here for 6 nights and looked forward each morning to the wonderful homemade breakfasts consisting of different hot and cold items. There was a different arrangement of fresh fruit every morning, delicious quiches, and either French toast or pancakes. It was all so good!!

Chris and Beth were very friendly, and Chris helped me get my 95 year old mother-in-law to her room on the first floor. He even helped me bring luggage up to our third floor room. We thoroughly enjoyed the large koi fish pond with the waterfall. We even found that Chris and Beth had displayed, in addition to many other local artwork, an original watercolor painting that was painted by my wife's uncle, Ferdinand R. Petrie. He has passed away, but had an art gallery in Rockport for 25 years, and won numerous awards at the Rockport Art Association.

We had a relaxing time and enjoyed getting to know Chris, Beth, and some of the other guests who were here, as well as the resident cat, Stormy. The Seafarer Inn is located on Marmion Way, which has some of the most beautiful ocean views in Rockport, very quiet, and yet within walking distance of downtown Rockport. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Seafarer Inn and would highly recommend it.

Room tip: Third floor rooms have the best view.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesmiths411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to host you and your family for the week. I still am so excited to have met the family of one of our favorite paintings. The painting was handed down to me by my cousin, a collector, and it fits in well with our own collection of more than 10 Rockport artists. We are proud that every one of our rooms displays at least one piece by a Rockport artist.

We also enjoyed your Mom's memories of running a gallery and being part of the art scene of 20 years ago.

Thank you also for the room tip. Each of our rooms has an ocean view with a longer view, of course, on the third floor.

We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews