We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean & Coffee Cake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Had a very pleasant stay at this B&B overlooking gorgeous Plymouth Harbor. We stayed in the Mayflower Suite. It was pretty and had a fridge and a microwave. Here are a few facts to keep in mind before you book. By the Sea offers hot beverages and coffee cake in the morning but does not provide a full breakfast like most B&B's. If you want a full breakfast, it appears that you need to obtain a "voucher" from the inn (I believe this costs extra) that you may use in a couple of different local restaurants for your morning meal. Some may find this somewhat inconvenient. If you decide to stay there, you may want to consider bringing some yogurt, fruit or other food to stash in your room's fridge so you can enjoy breakfast without having to leave the building. For more information, be sure and review By the Sea's website.

Room Tip: Mayflower Suite is lovely. A bit of street noise but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent this past weekend at By the Sea B and B with owners Brenda and Roger. Just an incredibly lovely place. Beautiful room, fantastic view with a porch that looks right on the harbor. Roger and Brenda and wonderful hosts. Their home is within walking distance of Plymouth Rock, the harbor, great dining, tons of stuff to see and do. Highly recommend it!!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My husband and l had visited Plymouth twice before coming from the UK staying in other accommodation but vowed that if we ever returned we would try and book By the Sea as it looked so charming from the outside. We were luckily enough to visit again this month and were able to book 3 nights in the Mayflower Suit, from the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome by the owners Brenda and Roger. Our room had the most fantastic view and it was a joy to wake up to the sight of the boats and sea in the mornings.
Brenda had coffee cake, tea and coffee ready in the morning to eat on the veranda, after our confusion that it was not actually a cake made of coffee, but a different type of cake daily , which was a nice way to start the day and meet other travellers who may be staying. There is only one small point for anyone wanting to stay, the staircase to the Mayflower Suit are extremely steep, and may be unsuitable for someone with mobility problems, luckily this was not us, but you have to bear in mind it is an old house.
We had a thoroughly nice time with very nice hosts, thank you Brenda and Roger for a very enjoyable stay, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Mayflower is upstairs at the front of the property and offers fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tansie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

This was our first visit to Plymouth and to By the Sea B and B. This was the perfect place to stay and we would definitely return. The location is ideal and the rooms are very well done. The view from our windows was outstanding as was the front porch, looking out on the harbor. We loved the breakfasts at Blue Blinds. We loved the coffee and baked goods on the porch in the morning. The hosts were very knowledgeable about local attractions and provided a great discount pass to 3 sites. We were able to walk to many historical sites, shopping and waterfront dining.

Room Tip: We loved the Governor Bradford Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmsilv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We came upon this beautiful place on accident. We stopped at the bay to see the view and we were on our way to find a place for the night. We noticed this home right away and it had a vacancy sign. We called and they had one room left due to cancellation. We jumped at the opportunity. Our room was in the front upstairs with 9 windows facing the bay. Beautiful, cozy, and very welcoming. The owners Roger and Brenda are wonderful hosts who have thought of everything a person from out of town would need. They can tell you about the restaurants, the area tourist sites. They provide directions to places you might want to drive to. Very friendly and welcoming. The entire home is beautiful. The landscape, the porch, they provide all the little things people would not think of bringing. They have pictures showing the history of the home. Just an all around awesome experience and I will definitely make this a place I will recommend and stay at again myself. If you are thinking staying here call and make your reservations as they are booked everyday of the week well in advance. We were lucky they had a cancellation. You won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
0.5 km away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
779 reviews
10.3 km away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
2.8 km away
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Winslow St., Plymouth, MA 02360
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: €106 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing