We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dining on the cape”

Captain Linnell House
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Celebrating our 30th anniversary, the historic 1840 Captain Linnell House is home to Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurant as well as an award winning Cape Cod wedding, rehearsal dinner, and corporate venue site. We are located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. The Captain Linnell House is chef owned and offers expertly prepared classic fare - from iced Wellfleet oysters, escargot and baby kale salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, Black Angus prime rib, roast duckling with fresh raspberries, scrod n' parchment, and much more. We go as local and organic as possible. A three course $35.00 Prix Fixe Menu is offered from Mid-September thru June. Enjoy dining in one of our unique dining rooms. Our garden room looks out over a spacious lawn with the sunset in the distance. Fireplaces grace the other two. We are off the beaten path but finding us is memorable!
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We ate here once for dinner and had our wedding reception here and both times the food and drink were perfection. Talking to our guests at the end of dinner at our wedding, almost every single plate was licked clean. If that isn't the highest compliment, I don't know what is!

The venue has a very unique and old world feel- definitely one of a kind!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2018

I've written previous reviews for the great dining experiences at this restaurant..If you've haven't tried it..They are one of the finest restaurants on Cape Cod..We've never had a bad experience..The food prep is outstanding..They have their $35 fixed menu on right now ..If you haven't tried them you have missed something very special..We have eaten at most of the cape's best restaurants & theirs is the best..Always a great dining experience..

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We had an amazing Thanksgiving dinner last year (2017). Though there was a set menu, there were enough choice (including the traditional turkey) that all in our party were satisfied. I opted for the roast duck, which was magnificent. We thoroughly enjoyed all courses, from the lobster bisque to the desert. Our cocktails were fun and festive to the point of me making a special trip (as we were leaving) to personally thank the bar tender. We already have our reservations and are looking forward to a repeat performance this year!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveler720336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Absolutely flawless!!! Outstanding!!!

We are at a loss trying to think of anything that Shelly and Bill could have done to make it better.. Everything was choreographed perfectly.. Shelly coordinated the arrival of 113 guests, moved people from banquet room to dining rooms and back to banquet room and the bride and grooms departure without a single glitch..

Add to that the beautiful setting and excellent food and it doesn't get any better..

Sally/Pete

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank peteandersen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

An afternoon wedding for over 100 guests, it was held in a quiet, garden spot, relaxed in atmosphere yet with formal overtones. The reception following was in the great room of this 1850's, perfectly restored, sea captain's home. The waite-staff was attentive and professional. The dinner was excellent. Our table of 8 was located adjacent to an elegant, flickering fireplace. We enjoyed good talk in this relaxed setting. Afterwards, while toasting the newly married couple, we had plenty of time to dance and gorge ourselves on the beautiful wedding cake and a variety of desert morsels. My wife and I commented on the fact that, in our 56 years of marriage, this wedding was as perfect as we had ever had the pleasure of attending. Great food, a beautiful setting and all done with warmth in a friendly and professional manner.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Harwich, Cape Cod
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing