We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Place in Oak Bluffs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Place in Oak Bluffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed at the Madison Inn the last week of September after looking for a place that was nice but wouldn't break the bank. This was perfect. Especially the week day rates this time of year. I booked online and it was a breeze. The front desk staff was always very warm and welcoming! I was able to get a room that was basically next too, but attached to the main entrance of the inn on street level, and I basically had my very on entrance. The beds were comfortable and I loved the organic shampoo samples! A perfect location in Oak Bluffs, right across from the ferry. There really isn't very much street parking at all, however, I was easily able to find parking behind the inn as I brought my car. It it two hour parking during certain hours I believe, but during the off season we were told we wouldn't have a problem, and we didn't. The inn stands between two awesome restaurants, 'Ken & Becks' and the 'Side Car Cafe'..two places that are must eats in my opinion. This is a place I would come back to again!

Room Tip: The Peach Room, I believe #15, you have you own street level entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jivefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    111
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
184
232
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Last week we had the pleasure of staying at the Madison Inn in Oak Bluff on Martha's Vineyard. From the day I called to ask about availabiliy to the day we left they were fantastic. The rooms are clean, the courtyard is a great place to relax. The Inn is located close to everything. I/we will stay here the next time we come to visit family.

Thank you you added to a WONDERFUL weekend

Room Tip: I think we were in room 8,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSheila1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We twice stayed at the "Ships Inn" on previous vacations in OB and were excited to see that it was still there even though it is now the "Madison Inn". I don't think there's a better deal on the island. Great location, great service, and great price. Included were wifi and nice snacks. I know we'll stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We were looking for an affordable place to stay for one night for a family of 4. We stayed in room 10 of this property, right in town of Oak Bluffs. The 2 queen size beds were soft, but the matresses were in great shape, no rolling to the middle, like it is so often these days. Room and bathroom was good size.
This is not a good property for anybody who feels challenged by steep and narrow stairs.
The property offered complimentary bottled water and chips in the bedroom and coofee/te/hot chocolate and some snack type foods and fruit for breakfast.

Thew downside: it is right off the main street and even we did go off season ( Oct 1/2) there was noise out in the street.
The bright side. You can walk from the ferry to the inn.

Room Tip: great accessability from the ferry. Shops and restauranst/pubs right up the next street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We loved our stay at Madison Inn. We booked online on the inn's own webisite and all that was available at the time was a room with two single beds. On arrival we were upgraded to a room with two double beds. The room was really nice and they provided bottled water and crisps. There is also coffee, fruit and cereal bars available in the lobby area. There are also apple cake squares which were delish!
The location is perfect and near all of the restaurants, shops and bars. We recommend taking the bus tour of the island. It turns out a lot of famous people live on this island.
One night whilst in a restaurant I saw a skunk just walking down the street. Never seen one before!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
3.8 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 km away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.4 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
7.6 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing