We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Narragansett House”
Review of Narragansett House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Narragansett House
Ranked #6 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Narragansett House”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Went with my boyfriend for July 4th weekend. We had stayed here a couple of years ago, so we knew what to expect: very close to Circuit Ave but with none of the noise. Walking distance to everything in Oak Bluffs. Small room with private bathroom. 3 windows in room and AC. No closet. Stall shower with no hot water. Should have said something on the first day, but I didn't. Despite the cold water though, I love the Narragansett House. It is fairly cheap, $160 for a room on the second floor with a double bed and private bath. Small TV, but we didn't turn it on at all, so I don't know if it had cable. They have a lovely front porch with rocking chairs--great place to lounge with a drink and a book. I brought breakfast outside all three mornings: serve yourself coffee and muffins. Not great by any means, but free. The Narragansett House has a couple of beach chairs that they lend you for the day. This really helps so that you don't have to bring your own chairs to the Island or buy them on island.
The Narragansett House is laid back, comfortable and has no frills. Do not go expecting elegance. Do go for a great location, a comfortable stay, and a great price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    31
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
14
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here last minute since we thought we were just going to the Vineyard for the day but wanted to stay overnight and were extremely happy with this place. It was the only one with availability and we ended up being pleasantly surprised! The location is great! Within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and beach. The room was adorable! It was very antique but you could tell everything was restored beautifully. We even had a little porch. The bathroom was very nice. Everything was very clean. I already made a reservation for this year to stay again.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

While the location is ideal, the owner Jane is unpleasant, the rooms are small and the breakfast part of the B & B consists of juice and muffins.

It should be noted that as we were checking out, but not leaving the island as yet, the owner said we could leave our luggage in the kitchenette area. In the interim, we lunched nearby on Circuit Avenue and walked to the beach. Upon our return for the luggage, the owner refused to allow me to use a bathroom. It wasn't until I told her that I was expecting and that I needed to use a bathroom ASAP that she got up from her seat, sighed loudly, grabbed some keys, slammed a door and led me to a vacant guest room. You would have thought I was someone off the street as opposed to a paying patron that had just spent a few days in this B & B. For that reason, I will never stay at Narragansett House ever again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Having arrived well into the evening, it was nice to be properly welcomed and shown to our room.
This was our first experience of a New England B & B and I have no criticism. The accommodation was exactly as we expected it: Spacious, comfortable and very very peaceful. (we were just off the main street but it was still so peaceful)
Breakfast was exactly as described - Coffee, Juice, Great Muffins and Excellent Cake.
I can't comment on other establshments, but I can only compliment this establishment and owner. You can't go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWANDDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard. The receptionist was very helpful when we got there. I was dissapointed that there was a sign at the front desk saying we shouldn't expect any service after 8pm. The breakfast was awful, not sure you can call yourself a B&B if you don't servce a proper breakfast. I never met the owners that I am aware of but we were warned about the cranky inn keepers. The house was clean, the room had A/C it was tiny but we didn't spend a ton of time there. The curtains were terrible and didn't block any of the morning sun. We did enjoy how close it was to downtown. We might stay there again if we don't find anything else appealing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.2 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
3.8 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
799 reviews
0.4 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
350 reviews
0.1 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
652 reviews
3.9 km away
The 1720 House
The 1720 House
#4 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narragansett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett House

Property: Narragansett House
Address: 46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narragansett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Narragansett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Narragansett House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing