We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
44
71
59
55
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
71
59
55
44
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The Inn has changed its name - There is a "bag" over the entrance sign that says Chelmsford Inn
They do not honour the coupons of Hawthorne
The property is very run down, the AC doesn't work well , if it is working.
Staff are generally pleasant.
There is the usual hot breakfast of egg and sausage "rounds".
The facility is hard to find due to the convoluted streets and roundabouts - if you must stay there, plan to arrive during daylight hours
Find another place to stay before you go to Hawthorne/Chelmsford unless you reallyl need an efficiency suite near the treatment centres.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Hawthorne/Chelmsford - if you must run the airconditioner before accepting the room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I have ben coming here regularly for years, largely because of the location to work and the availability of the kitchenettes, but I think these may be the last visits for a while. The hotel has been 'under repair' for quite a few years. Here that means if something breaks down, it doesn't get fixed. Missing doors on cupboards, broken fixtures, water damaged carpets in the hallway taped up with duct tape, every sink drain is plugged. In my last few visits, there was no hot water. I thought after the first few times with intermittent or no hot water it would have been fixed, but no.
Bit this is my biggest gripe. The cleaning staff seems to have an aversion to cleaning the carpets and the bath tubs. I started bringing flip flops. The kitchens provide assorted cutlery (I mean assorted, sometimes its large soup spoons or ladels, a fork and butter knife), but it seems that they are just put back into the cutlery trays after the last guest left, uncleaned with the food dried on. Some rooms do have dishwashers- of course there is a sign on them indicating that they are either out of order or to let the staff run them. Dirt invites pests, and low and behold, on my previous visit I watched a mouse scurry across the room one evening. Cute but ....
They do provide a breakfast on weekdays, but after the hygiene issues I see in the rooms, I can imagine what's in the kitchen, I wont chance it.
I have to say something positive. The beds are comfortable and it appears the sheets do get changed. The front desk staff is always charming and prepared. I'd say the prices are reasonable for the area, if you want the kitchenette. '
If cleanliness is not an issue for you, then its a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2016

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Change room three times during my 3 days 2 nights stay at this property. First there was a hole on my blanket, then the noise from the heating system. Need to update their carpet and bedding!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank JSTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews