We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
476
210
69
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
210
69
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews row houses hot tub fire pit lunch box year round spiral staircase continental breakfast one bedroom suite unique hotel hard boiled eggs granola reception area turn down service chocolate croissant fitness center claw foot tub fitness room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Porches last weekend for a good family friends daughters wedding held at Mass MoCA. The wedding was beautiful and Porches was a comfortable Inn. The close friends and family of the bride bought out the entire 50 rooms of the Inn. So, you would assume everyone would have access to all the public spaces this overpriced Inn offered. Well, though the room rate was double and triple of the surrounding Berkshires inns and hotels, they thought it was appropriate to charge for use of a common space for a wedding after party.
Porches has what they call a bar which is actually a few bottles on a small counter space. The staff proceed to confiscate more than half of the alcohol brought to the common area for the after party and did not return it. I assume they will try to sell it at their make-shift bar.
This practice is unacceptable since the entire place was inhabited by the same group of family and friends. I would never return!!!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djprima80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim_Asst_Innkeeper, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear djprima80,

Thank you for staying with us to celebrate A and E's special weekend. It was a privilege to host your group, which was one of the liveliest in recent memory!

We regret that you disapprove of the way we handled the after-wedding party. Please be advised that we did not charge a fee for the public areas used during this event. We would also like to point out that the Alcoholic Beverage Control laws of Massachusetts prohibit the guests of a hotel with a liquor license from bringing their own beer, wine and spirits onto the premises for their own private consumption. In accordance with these laws, we confiscated a considerable amount of alcohol from your group, but we returned all of it to the groom's parents when they checked out the next day. Finally, we call to your attention the five-star review posted on this site by the bride's parents on November 6.

Sincerely,

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

It felt that we were being nickel and dime'd for every little thing. The property was beautiful but everything was extremely over priced. It was not a welcoming environment and felt that I was waiting to get yelled at for every move I made. The staff definitely made me feel like a GUEST that was an inconvenience, not someone who paid 700.00 for three nights.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maps00043016948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill D, Director of Sales at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maps00043016948,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. Our management team has reviewed your remarks and perceptions as we do with each and every review we receive. It is unfortunate that our gracious Inn did not suit your personal tastes; however, had we been given the opportunity to speak with you directly during your stay, we would better understand where we fell short of your expectations and would have addressed what specifically made you feel unwelcome.

After receiving a five star review from the mother of the bride, along with many other positive and insightful assessments of this wedding weekend made by numerous family members, your impressions were surprising. Please know that guest satisfaction is very important to us as we continually strive to meet the diverse needs of our many guests. Upon occasion, the fit is not perfect and we are disheartened that you had an undesirable experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Our daughter got married at MASS MoCA last weekend. We had the good fortune to have a buy-out of Porches. Every room was filled with family and friends. Jill Drummond did a fantastic job helping us plan the weekend and coordinate details. She help us with babysitters, car services and multiple room changes to accomadate our families. We have one family member in a wheel chair who raved about the accessibility of Porches.

The public spaces and dinning rooms felt like home and amazingly accommodated large numbers of people. I would highly recommend the combination of MASS MoCA and Porches as a wedding venue. Everything is walkable so no need to worry about transportation. Jill and the rest of the team went above and beyond to help us plan and create a warm welcoming environment.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tour451552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

I stayed at Porches this weekend for a wedding. It was my favorite time in the Berkshires and I enjoyed the beautiful scenery immensely. The Inn was wonderful. The rooms were spacious. The only two negatives were that the inn is older so it is a bit noisy (you can hear other people in the hallway and above you quite easily) and our bed was not firm enough. The bathroom was cozy and the shower was one that you never wanted to end. The staff at the front desk was simply delightful! There is 24 hour coffee, tea and hot cider - all delicious. The continental breakfast was perfect. Although we didn't get a chance to use the pool or Jacuzzi, they looks amazing. The Pool is heated for year round use. The Inn is around the corner from Mass MoCA, which is a GREAT museum with a great coffee shop, BBQ place, and brewery! Go in the Fall and enjoy the foliage. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: Get a room on the second floor to limit sounds!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cfitzgerald0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Stayed here for a wedding that was across the street. Wonderful Staff! Everyone we had contact with was friendly and helpful. Room was fine, bathroom excellent, bed was average. As others have commented you must go outside to get to the breakfast room and since it was raining, that was not great.

Room tip: It is quieter away from the street so ask for a room in the back. The view from the back room was woods and pool
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews