We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with nice people”

167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
167 Water Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Newburyport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This is a great location, easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We enjoyed are stay there. We were expecting to arrive late (8-9pm) and Chuck was very accommodating in helping us make sure things would go smoothly.

We were staying for an anniversary, Chuck and Anne presented us with a bottle of Prosecco.

The rooms are decorated with a variety of art from the hosts' many travels. The business office is near the bedrooms, so if you're planning to sleep in, let Chuck know in advance.

There is a great sunroom looking out onto the back yard. The house has plenty of character. There is a shared bathroom but we were lucky enough to have the bathroom to ourselves. The bed was comfortable and sheets of high quality.

Room Tip: One room faces the street, the other onto the back yard with garden and poi pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

There are some very good things about this place - the hosts and the price. There are some things that are problematic - a very old house near the water so there are dust and mildew issues. There are many things that are a bit quirky - a shared bathroom (which was actually fine for us), traffic issues (given the location on a narrow street) and parking (via a gravel drive a few house down and around back of the house (rough on a car with a low carriage). I wish that the mattress was firmer and that the pillows were newer and had double cases on them (I'll be bringing an extra next time). But still...YOU SIMPLY CANNOT BEAT THE LOCATION. Almost everything we did and wanted to do over our 3 day weekend was located on the same street as the B&B. We spent half our time in the wonderful downtown of Newburyport (about a 15 minute walk) and the other half on Plum Island (a 5 minute drive in the other direction). If you want an adventure and don't mind that this is a little on the funky side, you can't beat 167 Water.

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I stayed here for a one night getaway from Boston with my husband. The B&B is in a charming historic home, decorated with art from Chuck and Anne's travels from all over the world. There's also a comfortable living room and beautiful, glass enclosed sunroom downstairs, overlooking the little backyard garden, complete with koi pond.

As other reviewers have noted, the accommodations are not luxurious per se but the room/bathroom are perfectly clean and comfortable. Our room had a queen bed, water, wine glasses, a large television and comfy robes - we couldn't have asked for more -- esp for the very reasonable rate!

The B&B is in a great location - quiet but a very short stroll to lots of restaurants, shops and the harbor. Chuck gave us great insight on what to do in town and we had such a nice night, walking into to town, and stopping here and there to eat, drink and shop.

We will def be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bostonbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Great B&B. Anne and Chuck have a lovely home, with fantastic views from the their back garden to the water beyond. They are incredibly welcoming and helpful. I stayed with them for a couple of days while on a house hunting trip. The room was beautifully decorated with some great pieces from their travels, comfortable bed, and the Wifi was great which meant I could also get some work done. The beach is a short car ride away and you can easily walk to town with plenty of options to eat and shop. I will definitely stay there again and look forward to seeing them again and sharing more stories.

Room Tip: Ask if the back room is available if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights while attending a friend's wedding in Newburyport. Picked it based on other online reviews. We got a call from Chuck on the day to say our room was ready early if we wanted it. Arrived and had a room overlooking the street. Bed was very comfortable and the hosts Anne and Chuck were very attentive and helpful. The breakfast was freshly laid from 8 till 10am each morning and there were plenty of choices. You can easily walk into town and access the great bars and restaurants that are close by, or if you enjoy running it is a 6 miles round trip to the beaches of Plum Island. Beware running on the sand...it is really hard work!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank merlincryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuckanzie, Owner at 167 Water Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Sam And Sue, Thank you for the kind words - we enjoyed having you as guests! Come back and visit! We hope Sue has a safe easy trip home.

Anne & Chuck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburyport
0.7 km away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
379 reviews
1 km away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
444 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
#2 of 2 in Amesbury
21 reviews
15 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
4.7 km away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 167 Water Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 167 Water Bed and Breakfast

Address: 167 Water St, Newburyport, MA 01950-3040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Newburyport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newburyport
Price Range: €76 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 167 Water Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Bed and Breakfast in an 1845 riverside home in Newburyport, MA. Located a short walk from the historic downtown, our B&B offers two guest rooms decorated with European and African art and a shared bath. A generous breakfast is included. Parking is available behind the house. Non smoking. No pets. Check in after 4:00. Cancellation policy is 72 hours in high season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
167 Water b&b
167 Water Hotel Newburyport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing