We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
245
117
55
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
117
55
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location gas fireplace the main street jacuzzi tub standard room bagels restaurants and shops in town continental breakfast is air conditioner enjoyed our stay new england can't beat the location park your car first floor street parking queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We booked a room at the Essex Street Inn without knowing much about it. The room was modern and spacious, the location is outstanding and the staff was very nice. The apple bread and coffee at breakfast were perfect. It's historic and charming but with modern conveniences. The fridge and microwave are a nice addition.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the breakfast area if you want to sleep in. Go one floor up.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Administration Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and our continental breakfast options.

We look forward to having you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This is a great Inn and a great location. We had a beautiful room with gas fireplace and Jacuzzi. Very relaxing and romantic. The location is right off State St, the main street for stores, pubs, and restaurants. It is nice to park, explore the downtown, then have a quick walk back to the inn. The staff is welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Administration Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We do believe that one of the high points we have to offer is our location and were happy to hear that these guests were satisfied with their room amenities and or friendly staff.
We look forward to having them back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Essex Street Inn was warm, clean, comfortable, and affordable! It was right in the heart of Newburyport, walking distance to everything. The staff was helpful, polite, and accommodating. The continental breakfast was more than expected. I highly recommend the Essex Street Inn & Suites!!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ehelming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

We sincerely thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.

We hope to see them again on a return visit in 2016.

Best,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Just steps to main street. Park the car for the weekend and enjoy worry free access to restaurants, bars, and shops! There is so much to enjoy, fine dining, pubs, shops, antiquing, cafes, the sea, short drive to plum island. Go!

Room Tip: Steps to down town
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Burt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

We thank this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review. We do take pride pride on being in the perfect location right in the heart of downtown Newburyport.
We look forward to having these guests back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I've stayed here numerous times over the past 10 years. It is an excellent location in the heart of the downtown. The guest rooms are cozy, clean and very affordable. The larger suites are amazing, some have gas fireplaces and wide plank pine floors. The breakfast is excellent, home made breads, pastry, great coffee selections too !! Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy R, Events and Business Manager at Essex Street Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Thank you to this guest for their recent stay and taking the time to post this review.
We are happy to hear that these guests find our location and accommodations to their satisfaction and look forward to having them back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kathy Ross
Events and Business Administration Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews