We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$199
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clark Currier Inn(Newburyport)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Market Street Inn(Newburyport)
US$170
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
200
16
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
16
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew englandquichesitting roomdressing areain townfederal stylewithin walking distanceworking fireplacepristine conditionbreakfasts were excellentlounge areaeach morningside streetlarge bathroomyogurttwo sinksfirst morning
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We loved our visit here. Before we found this place, we had stayed at another local inn in April. The following day, we visited 3 others, in search of an appropriate place to stay with out of state friends who would join us in May/June. Compass Rose Inn clearly had the quality, charm and all the creature comforts that we sought. We stayed here at the end of May, beginning of June 2012. The Compass Rose is a beautiful 3+ story building in pristine condition (newly built to detailed Federal period, but with today's amenities.) Innkeeper was fabulous, pleasant and accommodating. Food was fresh, delicious, prepared well and with nice presentation. The suites were spacious, nice appointments, very comfortable, excellent bed & linens, refrigerator, two bath sinks, and many more features (I'll leave some out for you to discover). Excellence was in the detail. We enjoyed the walkability and bike-friendliness of the area, little shops, good restaurant choices. A stone's throw from the waterfront and docking area. Great launching point to visit other areas in Cape Ann and the North Shore. Innkeeper was helpful in every way possible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blessedbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stop searching for the best accommodations near the Newburyport, Ma region and immediately book a suite at the Compass Rose Inn. The three-room suites are immaculate and beautifully furnished. Gloria, the Innkeeper, warmly welcomes you and provides you with a very attentive and detailed B&B experience. She makes a made-to-order breakfast that is superb. This location is convenient to all the areas of Newburyport, whether you are biking to the beaches on Plum Island, taking in the sites at the waterfront, or perusing the abundant boutique shops. Love it, love it, love it!

Room Tip: We liked the third floor suite with its awesome city views and extra large shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucknellWMBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our recent visit to Newburyport, MA was magical - with our stay at the Compass Rose Inn playing a big part in that experience. The minute you walk up to the Federal style Inn, you feel transported back in time. The suites at the Inn are spacious, clean and well appointed. Each suite has individual A/C, heating and wireless internet. Gloria (the inn's manager) makes everyone feel very welcome and at home. The location is great - centrally located to several points of interest (restaurants, shopping, galleries, the waterfront, etc). We'll be making this our home point from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Finding this Inn on the internet was a highlight of our 1300 mile driving trip through Quebec City and the New England states. It was our favorite of all the places we stayed. Located in downtown Newburyport, you can park your car at the Inn and explore the cute shops and great restaurants. At The Compass Rose Inn, all the suites are laid out the same so you can't go wrong. THe bedrooms are large with a separate living room with sofa, chairs, fireplace, & computer table and lots of windows with rooms filled with light. I loved the separate dressing areas, each having it's own sink and mirror. Gloria & Kevin are great hosts but at the end of the day, they are absent, giving guests the privacy they want. Being retired, we travel extensively and have stayed in hundreds of B&B's. The really nice ones are not appropriate for children and for my own grandchildren, I would not pick a B&B. Not to be forgotten is the wonderful breakfast and free internet service. We will return.

Room Tip: All the suites are layed out the same. We were on the 2nd floor so it was easy to get luggage in and out.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoptiludrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had my sister stay at the Compass Rose when she came to visit us in Newburyport. The property itself is a beautiful Federal style replica. The suites are spacious and attractive. The location is great -- within walking distance to the center of town. However, our 6 year old daughter slept over at the Inn with my sister and unfortunately vomited overnight in the bed. There were no spare sheets in the room and there was no answer at the innkeepers door or phone. As such, my sister and daughter had to leave the Inn and sleep at our home (the reason she did not stay with us was that she is cat allergic). Despite speaking to the owner and innkeeper about this, we were still charged full price for the two night stay despite that fact that my sister had to leave the inn to sleep at our home. They were apologetic but the fact that nobody could be found to help overnight was not acceptable. The fact that no discount or concession was made --very poor customer service. We have stayed at full service hotels, motels, rental villas, bed and breakfasts all across the US and across the world and have always had a resource for issues that arise. Again, the property itself was beautiful and immaculate, but please keep this in mind prior to booking a trip here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pashonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews