We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Marlborough
New England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Snowed in”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here one snowing winter day. Room service is overpriced, but the hotel is comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knobhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for leaving us a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor! We’re glad you were pleased with your experience at our hotel and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,

Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    192
    154
    83
    59
See reviews for
173
56
30
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed only one night at this hotel in April 2011. This large hotel has great prices for the area and the overall stay was good. I was lucky to stay on a quiet time even on the eve of the Boston Marathon. The rooms are average, seemed to be mostly clean but the age is really stating to show. I performed a full bedbug inspection and found no sighns of the nasty critters. As always I check the bedbug registry before I book and this one was not on it at the time and I hope it is still "clean" of the critters. I didn't eat at the hotel because there was alot of good places to eat around there but the sports bar at the hotel seemed to be a good bet for a game night. The service at the desk was a little slow and that was annoying since I could count the few cars in the parking lot. But overall, I would return and will likely have travel in the area soon. Stayed tuned for an update. Oh, almost forgot about the elevators. Better plan extra time since they are VERY slow and the stairs will be much faster on a busy hotel day.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors to avoid the SLOW elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel and Trade Center. We're glad that you found our hotel clean and quiet. We are always trying to make improvements at our hotel so your feedback is appreciated. We look forward to having you stay with us again for your next trip.

Sincerely,

Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I've stayed here quite a few times over the last few years when I'm in town visiting family. The last time I stayed there, the toilet had major problems which I noticed when I first entered the room. I called down to the desk and someone came up and gave me a plunger. Great. The shower had not been cleaned, there was hair in it and there were quite a few stains on the floor. I ended up keeping the room and just sleeping since I had just finished a 4.5 hour drive. They give you free continental breakfast if you eat in the restaurant downstairs which is sort of annoying if you just want to grab a bagel or something to go without actually sitting down. I no longer stay at this hotel. When I am in Marlboro I stay at the Hampton Inn ONLY! I highly recommend the Hampton Inn...they have free hot breakfast that you grab and go! The rooms and beds in general are also much nicer at the Hampton. Whenever I have had issues at the Royal Plaza Hotel I never felt like the staff really cared or went above and beyond to rectify the situation. Leaving a plunger outside my door wasn't really that helpful. Do yourself a favor, drive another 2 seconds down route 20 and stay at the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are sad to hear about your unsatisfactory stay. We have noted your feedback and have shared your experience with our staff as we are always striving to provide the best guest service. If anything was not resolved from your stay please let us know at jkerrigan@rplazahotels.com.

Sincerely,

Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My partner and I spent four nights in this hotel as part of a tour of Boston and New England. The reviews that we had read prior to the trip had worried us and even the hotel's website wasn't particularly reassuring but as soon as we stepped into the hotel we were relieved. Admittedly this hotel is a little tired and dated, but for the purpose of our stay - as a base for visiting many of New England's popular sites - it is conveniently located near to the Mass Turnpike meaning you can avoid the heavy city traffic of Boston and other areas. OK, it's an hour or so to the centre of Boston but it's also a quarter of the price of a Boston hotel! The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel itself, although in need of a little freshening up, had everything we needed (although we didn't do much other than sleep and eat breakfast here). Breakfast was always good with a wide variety of both hot and cold items and there was always plenty to go round. We did, however, find ourseleves getting up a little earlier than perhaps we ordinarily would have to avoid having to queue for a table.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel and Trade Center. We're pleased that you found our location convenient and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We made a note of your suggestion to add more tables in the eating area and to improve the decor of the interior. We’re glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope that we will be able to host you again soon.

Thanks,

Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire , England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed four nights at this HUGE hotel
Although on the fourth floor the HOTEL'S airconditioning was unbearably noisy
We got ourselves moved three times before a suitable room was found - the reception staff did not understand the layout of the hotel and just kept moving us on the same corridor
You need to be on the odd numbered rooms - as I remember
Once a quite room was found it was good, we even had a view from our window
The vending machines in the corridord made them VERY hot - this was OCTOBER note!
Waiting for the lift in thse corridors was almost ubearable becaus eof the heat and dead air

We te "sport bar"restaurant twice and thefood was good but a quiiter restaurant area would have made our eating experience better
Ver badly designed hoel but the staff were as helpful as there traing allowed

Room Tip: Get a room away from the hotel's VERY, VERY noisy airconditioning units I think these were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickskinner60, General Manager at Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are glad our staff was accommodating in finding you a suitable replacement room and were helpful. We are always making improvements to our hotel layout and features but want to ensure our staff is helpful and friendly which you said you experienced. We have noted your feedback and appreciate you staying with us. If anything was not resolved from your stay please let us know at jkerrigan@rplazahotels.com.

Sincerely,
Rick Skinner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marlborough hotels
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Marlborough
0.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston Marlborough
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Marlborough
1.1 km away
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
Courtyard Boston Marlborough
#6 of 10 in Marlborough
162 reviews
2.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Marlborough
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center

Property: Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center
Address: 181 Boston Post Rd W, Marlborough, MA 01752-1840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel And Trade Center
Best Western Royal Plaza Hotel & Trade Marlborough
Marlborough Best Western
Best Western Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing