We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay at The Harbor Light Inn”
Review of Harbor Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at The Harbor Light Inn”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I recently stayed there, and it was all around 5 stars. We had a Fireplace and a jacuzzi room that was to die for.

Nice tavern and access to some great restaurants in Marblehead. The staff was super-accommodating.

Loved the full breakfast! And it was really great.

We definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you kindly for your five star review following your recent stay at the Harbor Light Inn. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return to the Inn and Tavern.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    71
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
60
253
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Besides all the wonderful amenities, they have a great tavern, fire places and it's located right down town in the historic section of Marblehead.

My favorite part is that they have a full free breakfast, that changes everyday.....not continental, but a FULL FREE BREAKFAST.

The best, all around. Great staff, as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My fiance and I spent a Saturday night in January. Even though the weather was freezing outside, this historic inn was warm and cozy inside. All the common rooms, as well as our room, had working fireplaces. The general manager, Susan George, was a wonderful host and gave us great advice on dining choices in the area. The Inn serves an incredible hot breakfast; probably the best "continental breakfast" I have every had. There is a cute bar next to the dining room. We especially loved the ship models displayed and the overall decor of the inn. Susan was very helpful and warm, without being too intrusive. Location is excellent, near the water, shops and restaurants. You couldn't ask for a better getaway and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 24 is excellent..romantic with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear guests,

From the staff at the Harbor Light Inn, we thank you very much for your complimentary review. We are happy to hear that you and your fiancé enjoyed the accommodations and amenities provided.

We hope you will return again to Marblehead in the seasons ahead.

All the best to you and yours in 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Extremely well appointed makeover of a 1729 home into a great inn. The fireplace room is warm and inviting and the bar is quite amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you kindly for this lovely review.

We recently opened a new gas fireplace during the holiday season in our green sitting parlor, adjacent to the Tavern. We hope you will enjoy during a future stay at the Inn.

All the best in 2012!

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

How lucky I feel to have found the Harbor Light Inn for a weekend of festivities in honor of my son's Bar Mitzvah! From the arrival of my out-of-town guests on Friday night, the tone was set - warmth, elegance, comfort, coziness to the after temple services celebratory luncheon that was so magnificent allowing guests an opportunity to really connect with each other and to feel like they were in a gracious, sprawling, beautiful home to a wonderful breakfast send-off on Sunday morning after a overnight in gorgeous rooms - it all was magical. And topping it off and guiding me through all my planning decisions and ensuring that everything was perfect ..., the very special General Manager of the Inn Susan George - charming, funny, warm and intelligent, Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborLightInn, Manager at Harbor Light Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you for selecting the Harbor Light Inn for your celebratory weekend.

It was a pleasure hosting you and yours. We are pleased to hear that you found satisfaction with our guest rooms and event space. In addition, the warmth, elegance, comfort, coziness and service you described with other prospective visitors is greatly appreciated.

We hope you will return to the Inn and Tavern for future events and gatherings in the New Year.

Sincerely,

The staff at the Harbor Light Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.8 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.9 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
18.9 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
9.2 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.9 km away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Light Inn

Property: Harbor Light Inn
Address: 58 Washington St, Marblehead, MA 01945-3553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Light Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old town Marblehead and the harbor district, the Harbor Light Inn offers easy access to beaches, shopping, art galleries, historic homes, museums and a variety of great restaurants. The Harbor Light Inn offers complimentary parking, wireless Internet and an on-site Tavern. Within short driving distance to neighboring Salem, Massachusetts and less than 18 miles to Boston. Corporate retreats, small weddings and executive meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Light Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing