We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay...”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mateus Place Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 55 Restaurants in Ludlow
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Everything was just okay from the atmosphere to the dessert.

There is no atmosphere, the service was less than welcoming, the food was acceptable and the prices are higher than other area restaurants.

Date of visit: April 2015
1  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2015

It seems that most of my reviews are in the 4 circle (Very Good) category. That is because, like most of us, I don't want average or worse. With TripAdvisor's help, and sometimes other sources, one can find better places! My wife and I were very pleased with our lunch today at Mateus. It is a little out of the way, unless you live in Ludlow, but well worth trying if you are in the area. Also, don't be put off by the large parking lot on the bar side, filled today with a lot of pickup trucks. I took a peak in the bar, and the folks there, at least during the lunch hour were hard working types, not lounge lizards.

While we were the only folks on the restaurant side, the welcome was warm and sincere. We had, respectively, the Shrimp Mozambique and Rabbit Stew, and both were excellent. Vegetables and potatoes were well prepared and the the sauces for both main courses delicious. A glass each of the house red wine was respectable, and more interesting wines were available by the bottle and half bottle.

We shared a slice of "cracker cake", a pleasant and fairly light concoction. I was especially delighted with a European class espresso, Bistrot, a superb and connoisseur's blend from the Dolomites in Italy. Both the restaurant and bar side have professional grade espresso machines, but they won't do much for you unless you start with top quality beans and someone who cares about making it right.

We are blessed, in this part of Massachusetts, with a number of pockets of ethnic communities that maintain strong ties with their culture and heritage. On both sides of the Atlantic, the Portuguese are among the nicest and hardest working people. We will remember this address, and look forward to more meals here.

The restaurant has been in business since 1987 and should be around for many more decades based on quality, friendliness and service.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

If so, Try Mateus. It has the ambiance of an old Italian resturaunt in NYC, except the décor is all Portugal. If you've ever been to Portugal( I have, a few times) you'll love the food at Mateus. I love their spicy shrimp. Brings back fond memories

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank bt1sw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Excellent food. Generous portions and very rarely crowded to the point of being uncomfortable. Good traditional Portuguese food. Casual atmosphere. Check out the specials. The server is very friendly, accomodating and will take the time to explain and/or recommend.

Date of visit: June 2013
2  Thank Vagueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Deliciouse food, wonderful menu and outstanding seafood. Restaurantis very clean and pleasant, Nice table settings with cloth napkins an d shiny water goblets.Presentation of each meal is spectacular! Good soups or salad with every meal. Good selection of appetizers. You sure wont go away hungry.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mateus Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing