We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
118
8
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
8
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room deluxe room own private villa italian palace wedding gift hotel experience circular drive main restaurant wine list is favorite hotel world class lamb chops gilded age romantic getaway fine dining warmer months soaking tub
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We spent a magnificent celebratory family weekend at the Wheatleigh and everything about it was perfect: the sumptuous accommodations, the outstanding staff (all of whom seemed to know what we needed even before we asked), and the talented chef who, with little notice, arranged the most magnificent private dinner for our group of 15 as well as a carefully curated private BBQ for our group upon arrival. We would highly recommend the Wheatleigh for everything from a romantic getaway to a large family gathering to a private function of any kind.

One tip: opt for a Jr Suite or a Deluxe room if you can -- both are roomy and comfortably decadent. The Superior rooms are a bit small for more than one person.

Room tip: Splurge for a Jr Suite or a Deluxe room; superior and standard rooms are quite small
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Have not stayed there in several years, however, visited the hotel while in the area to see what's new. When we did stay there, several years ago, everything was perfect and I would venture to say it still is. We were once again given a tour of the Hotel by a young intern who did an amazing job of explaining what was new and showed such passion about the Hotel and his future in the Hospitality business. We returned later that evening for drinks outside on the lawn and then Dinner. I was absolutely, 100 percent satisfied with every aspect of our evening at the Wheatleigh! The dinner was outstanding. The evening was perfect. I was very impressed with the menu in the casual dining room and plan on returning soon to have dinner in the fine dining room! We asked our Server if we can have a menu and asked if the Chef would sign it, he did with a little note! Will be returning soon, this time we will with out a doubt be staying at this wonderful place.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roadwarrior4089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Wheatleigh is simply an amazing place. The care and detail that went into renovating the mansion are sights to see in and of themselves. The location is convenient to downtown Lenox and right next to Tanglewood. The property sits beautifully on 20 acres and provides pool and tennis for the warmer months and room for snowshoeing and sledding in the winter. The service truly sets Wheatleigh apart. The staff is impeccably trained and extremely attentive. My wife asked for a brush to get a mud spot off her suede coat. Instead, they took the coat, cleaned it thoroughly and returned it to our room with a kind note. We mentioned we loved the chocolate truffles that were waiting for us by our bed at the end of the night. They gave us a whole box as a gift at the end of our stay. We were presented with a tray of 4 different types of soap amenities to chose from during our stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed with a taupe theme offset by white marble and dark woods in the baths. The restaurant is world class. Local ingredients are brought to life with enticing flavors and stunning presentation. Wheatleigh is easily accessible from Boston and NYC by car, but is really a wonderful world away.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank JBBNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

My wife and I went to Wheatleigh over New Year's weekend to ring in the new year and it was simply exquisite. Probably the best hotel experience in the sense of service we have ever encountered thus far. The sweeping staircases, high ceilings, intricate molding and elegant floors and furniture reminded us of scenes from Downton Abbey or a description of Gatsby's home in the gilded age of America. It was during this trip that I realized that what makes a great hotel stand out from the best isn't so much just the decor, furniture or even the history of it, but also the current staff and management / owners taking care of the property. The hotel staff were simply the best we had ever encountered. From the first encounter with Jacob, to Brandon, Peter, Luis and Mary, every one made sure all of our needs were met. We brought a yorkshire terrier with us and they treated her like she lived there. I had temporarily misplaced my wedding band one night and the hotel staff not only supplied us with flashlights but without asking, put on heavy winter coats, ready to look outside with us. Every time we stepped into the hotel, we were greeted with a warm smile and hello as well as an offer for tea or coffee delivered to our room. We had the 7 course meal during New Year's Eve and it was simply delicious, although we weren't expecting it to last so long!
As it was pretty cold, we did not get a chance to explore the grounds but I am told the surrounding areas are a great place to hike and during the warmer months, barbecues are grand events. Our room was a corner suite and it had a balcony overlooking the grounds in the back. The room had plenty of light and the bathroom was very spacious with a soaking tub that was just very rejuvenating. The shower pressure was awesome.
These seemingly small details can make or break a trip. Even though the decor of this mansion/hotel was classic and on the older side, it was very well maintained and had modern amenities. Wifi service was great and not slow at all. They had bluetooth Bose sound system that you could tie your phone into and play music out of and plenty of USB jacks for charging, etc.
I will repeat again that the service here out of everything mentioned, is what sets Wheatleigh apart from anything else we have experienced. On the day of our departure, we checked out late and though the hotel was essentially empty of all other guests and the restaurant closed down, we asked if they would still serve us lunch and without hesitation, the staff turned the kitchen/grill back on and made us lunch. As we left, they insisted that they get our car and help us move our belongings to the car and gave us fresh brewed coffee for our drive back home (usually, I am too controlling and frugal to indulge in valet services, but they made us feel very comfortable about it).
Without question, we will be back again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PeterK8325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were attending a wedding in the Berkshires in September and stayed at the Wheatleigh for three luxurious days. Our first night we decided to dine in the main restaurant which was beautifully surrounded by the lush gardens of the property.
Our waiter, Serville Soriano was absolutely delightful. He recommended the wine pairing and within minutes the Sommelier, Samuel Fisher, came over to greet us. Don’t let Samuel's boyish face fool you. His knowledge of wine coupled with his genial disposition made us feel like we were tasting from our own private cellar. He also went out of his way to recommend a few wines from a very complicated wine list at Le Coucou in Manhattan were we were heading after our stay. The service here was exceptional and we can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CherieSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews