We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
259
28
13
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
28
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews music room carriage house the main house laurel suite relais chateaux pianist playing chateaubriand corner room drawing room dining room old world charm wine pairing special hotel downton abbey beyond words hot tub beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We returned for a second visit in July. (Stayed here in August 2017 previously) We were very happy with the renovations and changes to some of the decor. Our room was clean and well decorated, the lobby, dining rooms, and outdoor sitting area was beautifully done. The staff was very attentive and polite. All of our needs were met with pleasant and helpful people who were always available. Drinks after dinner listening to soft piano music was the end to a perfect day. The only slight disappointment we experience was with our dinner. Compared to our last stay in August of 2017, dinner was not as good. Our Server at Dinner was great but we did have a better meal the last time we stayed. I still am planning on returning again and would no doubt recommend the Blantyre to anyone who needs a relaxing quiet getaway.

Room Tip: The Corner room or the Crimson Suite
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roadwarrior4089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RoadWarrior4089,

Thank you for being a valued Blantyre guest, and for your positive review and recommendation.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed seeing the updates at Blantyre and had a lovely stay. We’ll be sure to forward your comments about dinner with our culinary team.

In the meantime, we’ll save a special place for you in the Music Room, and will look forward to serving you again.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

We stayed at Blantyre for only one night on a week long leaf peeping trip, but definitely wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms, staff and cuisine were first class and the atmosphere was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JanetW2539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Janet,

Thank you for your “five star” review. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your experiences at Blantyre including the guest room, the service, atmosphere and cuisine. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again if your travels bring you back to the Berkshires.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

This is a beautiful property, I just have a few points on the Riverview and the Cottage House. We found the Riverview rooms to be spacious and lovely but we had a major issue with the smell of burnt wood emanating from the fireplace. It pretty much permeated the entire premises--it's not necessarily a bad odor but if you have a problem with smoky scents, I would think twice about staying there.
Second, we were moved with extreme courtesy to a bi-level suite in the Carriage House. The rooms, up and down, are peaceful, immaculate and up to date. However, the King bed is upstairs and navigating the stairs up and especially down is extremely difficult unless you use the flashlight (provided) and leave lights on in the vicinity of the stairs, which may effect your sleep. Finally, the carriage house is a bit isolated and there is no lock on the exterior door; anyone can walk up and into the carriage house and knock on your door, not that anyone did. Just saying. Otherwise, excellent service and a very fine hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank royturk611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Royturk611,

Thank you for staying at Blantyre and for your observations and review. We are pleased to know that you thought Blantyre provided excellent service and is a “very fine hotel.” We apologize for the smell at the Riverview Cottage, and your subsequent move to another room. If your travels bring you back to the Berkshires and to Blantyre, it would be our pleasure to offer one of our Manor House suites for your stay, which might be more suited for your needs.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

My husband and I came to stay at this hotel, because we have heard so many wonderful things about this hotel. The experience was way beyond my expectations. From the minute we walked into the hotel, they took us up to our room with homemade candy waiting for us with a beautiful note. We walked around the incredible grounds and even went on the swings, that felt like they were from a different Century. The food and the wine selection,, were spectacular. I had one of the best steaks, I have ever had. The waiter named Rob, told us about the history of the hotel which made our dinner experience even more special. My husband loves wines, and their wine selection went on for pages and pages. In the morning I had a facial, it was a wonderful experience. This is the type of hotel, you need to take the time to enjoy all the amenities it has to offer. We listen to the piano player, who seemed to know exactly what type of music we liked, we had after dinner drinks and overlooked the beautiful grounds that were in front of us. At one point we even did the waltz while the piano player was playing. I have never been to this hotel before, but I am sure I will be back.
This place mades you feel special and I enjoyed the entire experience. A+

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jerifinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Jerifinch,

Thank you for your five-star review of Blantyre.

We enjoyed reading your review and seeing the pleasure in your experiences, including your waltz in the music room! We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that Blantyre made you feel very special. On behalf of all the entire team, we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

My husband and I visited The Bistro for dinner and, despite the cordial staff, very good wines, mediocre and uninspiring dinner, we found the entire experience very disappointing, especially, perhaps, because we had high expectations from other visits to Relais and Chateaux properties. The "new" Blantyre is exactly that: newly furnished with just a few wonderful older, unique and interesting pieces that were overwhelmed by the renovating interior decorator's selection of what seems to be a mashup from big box purveyors. Sadly, not exactly a successful attempt at providing a luxury ambiance.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel H, Group Managing Director at Blantyre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Fay P,

We are glad that you enjoyed the cordial staff and good wines, but we are sorry to learn that we fell short of your expectations. As you know from your experiences with Relais & Chateaux properties, one of the greatest pleasures in travel and entertainment is to broaden our minds, experience different styles and tastes, and to feel the warmth of the hospitality. We are saddened to see your opinion about the interior décor prohibited you from experiencing that pleasure.

Warm regards,

Daniel Hostettler
Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews