We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Seafood Perfection”
Review of Jake's Seafood

Jake's Seafood
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Hull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Jake's has been serving award winning fresh seafood for over 50 years! We are a seasonal (open April-November) restaurant located in beautiful Nantasket Beach directly on the water! We feature a full service seafood market for those wanting to take fresh seafood home and prepare for themselves and offer a full liquor service as well as a children's menu.
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

First off the restaurant over looks the bay and had a dock for warmer weather. The atmosphere is very comfortable in a nautical/Nantasket theme which included family pictures as well. We ordered Haddock chowder and Clam chowder but very good. Next we had the Seafood Platter with Onion rings and Cole slaw. The platter had Haddock, shrimp, clams and scallops all which were fried in a light batter. Everything was so fresh and cooked perfectly. It wasn’t enormous but plenty enough. The coleslaw was tasty and thinly shredded. They also sell fresh fish in the front which looked awesome. I would highly recommend Jakes.

Thank mylittlehummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunkyob, Owner at Jake's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Went here with my mother and daughters. The host and server were friendly, and we were seated right away, but after that the waiting began. The waitress came back 3 times, but not too take our order, but to ask us if we wanted water, take drink orders, bring bread, etc. When we did order we waited at least 40 minutes for our food, none of which should have taken that long if cooked from scratch. The food was ok (swordfish was great, scallops were ok, maybe a little overcooked, fried clams were good, mac and cheese was Kraft). Overall it wasn't horrible, but we will not be returning.

Thank angieandiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunkyob, Owner at Jake's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience didn’t meet your expectations. Depending on level of business volume and the menu items ordered some tables may wait longer Han other’s. We try to get the food to the guests in a timely manner. It sounds like in this case we failed.

Thank you again for the constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The best thing about this place was my oysters . The hostess was rude lil older woman she walked away without even leading us to our table. There was tons of seats with the ocean view dining and she sat us away from everyone else she looked suprise to see me and my husband in the restaurant kept walking by us looking at our plates the young man that took our order over charged me for a dish and good thing I noticed. Other than that he was great.will not return stay away from the cucumber salad

1  Thank Anjie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunkyob, Owner at Jake's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi Anjie

Thank you for the feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you had some pricing issues with your visit. We work very hard to make sure that our seasonal opening includes double checking pricing and making sure staff are trained to modify menu items correctly. In your case it sounds lie we failed.

Please feel free to give me a call to discuss the rest of visit. I would like to go over the details.

Thank you again for taking the time to write.

Jim O,Brien
Owner
Jakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had dinner at Jake's with our family (2 children) and loved it. Deliciously prepared food (poached salmon, grilled salmon, calamari and grilled chicken). Large portions and very nice staff. I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Ellenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunkyob, Owner at Jake's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for your comments and feedback! We are glad you and your guests enjoyed your recent visit to Jakes! Please say hello next time you visit.

Jim O’Brien
Owner
Jakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I'm a New Englander and we love of Lobster rolls for sure. Jake's never disappoints. They use plenty of lobster meat and not tons of filler.
I usually have either that or the salmon. Any of the seafood there is fantastic.
There is usually a wait to get in but it's well worth it.

Thank KikiW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jake's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing