We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Cape Sea Grill

Cape Sea Grill
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Restaurant week and we hit a lot of them. Wanted to know where to bring the summer guests. This won't be one of them. We were greeted with a bark - do you have a reservation - and we were puzzled as it was clear there were open tables and yes, we did have a reservation. Pre-fixe menu and we went home afterward and had something more sustaining. Upcharge on the ceasar salad when it should have been a discount for such a puny salad. My son looked at his entree and was wondering if that was the appetizer. Mine was the fish taco (not a corn shell, tortilla) with one chunk of fish and mountains of not very good red slaw. Waiter was whizzing through the dessert menu and it took several repetitions to understand what he was saying. I guess he wanted to go home since it was so late at 8:30 PM.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016

Yesterday, as a group of three Cape couples, went to the long anticipated first time dinner at the Cape Sea Grille. We were excited to experience the three course ‘prie fixe’ menu and booked an early time to get that deal. Having seen reviews and heard other people speak to its quality and service the expectation bar was set very high. Let me say, after the meal was done, we had very mixed feelings and felt like we were treated as typical Cape restaurants do, “they’re only summer visitors, we won’t feed them again.” On the positive side, the food was prepared well, served hot, tasted fresh, and delivered with care. We sampled a number of items including asparagus bisque, Caesar salad, and pate appetizers; dinners of half lobster, rack of lamb, duck confit, and two varieties of tacos. We managed to try all varieties of the deserts. We sampled a variety of wines and a mojito.
Our overall experience was drawn down by amount of food and price. We all left hungry and speaking to raiding the refrigerator when we arrived home or stopping at Embers for a slice, not a good feeling when we spent almost $130 a couple! The two tacos we sampled, one scallop and one skirt steak had virtually no ingredients in them, one scallop (sliced into pieces) and perhaps 2 ozs of steak. The duck was equally sized small. The only close to normal portion was the half lobster. Our feeling was that we had a very expensive appetizer portion meal. Further, wines were very expensive, we did have choices, but glasses are priced at almost the price of the bottle in a store.
Our final issue was when we received the check and saw the large amount; we had to review the line items to make sure the total was correct. In doing so we realized that a 20% gratuity was automatically added, very presumptuous indeed. Never were we informed about this by our server. It was the only time I have thought to write a negative amount in the “Additional TIP” field of the credit card receipt.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4everSeekingSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Cape Sea Grill has done better and should have received a higher score but the start of this 2016 season was a bit of a disappointment. The food was good but portions on the slight side for the price and the service was so uneven as to undermine the tempo of a good meal. Having to ask for everything twice is more than annoying. The owners need to better connect concept with execution if they want to get back in the top tier where they can belong.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The 3 course special is a wonderful deal for $30.00 my favorite 1st course is the soup.
2nd course the seafood and pasta and 3rd course the lemon sorbet. There are several choices in each course. The staff in very friendly and attentive.. Ill go back soon.
My friend told me the Mothers Day brunch was out of this world!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Excellent food, fresh ingredients. Really friendly staff, and owners! PERFECT for date night or a special occasion

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Sea Grill also viewed

 
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Cape Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing