We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run Down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Village at Jiminy Peak
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Run Down”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Country Village at Jiminy Peak a few of weeks ago. Friends were supposed to join us, but we warned them off and told them that we would return to the Berkshires another time together. Our "condo" was adequate for a couple or family with two young children, but to claim it holds 6 people is an exageration. They would be packed in like sardines.
The stairs on our deck were rotting off, but it was too cold to use the deck at night so it really didn't matter to us. Our refridgerator was left over from an 80's yard sale. The bathrooms were tiny. The TV's are old and without remotes, but there were DVD and VCR players. The kitchen was poorly stocked and lacked enough basic serving/cooking tools.
The staff at the desk at night seemed a bit slow and not too eager to move at anything but a snail's pace.
The mountain property and overall facilities are pretty nice, but stay in one of the other facilities and not Country Village.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The rooms were clean. The location was good for some day trips.

Now for the down side:
Since we went in between seasons we knew that most things would be closed and that did not bother us. John Harvards was open and the drinks are over-priced, but the service was good (something rarely seen in the Berkshires).

While the room itself was clean, the dishes were put away dirty as were the placemats. The toilet in the full bathroom was loose and wobbled. The refrigerator was missing shelves. We were sold two "logs" that were so damp that they wouldn't light. The screen door on the deck was stck and the steps were rotting off the deck.

I would think that they were just letting things run down waiting for a renovation, but the roof was brand new.

I had been warned and knew what I was getting into so I didn't get annoyed. We probably will never return.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wawwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hancock hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We just stayed overnight at one of the condos at Jiminy Peak. We had to since we booked last minute and there were no rooms left at the main hotel (pretty much next door) according to the person who booked us.

On the whole, for $250 a night you get two beds, 1 and half baths. Plus a decent living room with fire place. Old, country style furniture was passable, and at least clean - I hope! A lot of space for two people but again, this was one of the remaining available places to stay at Jiminy this past weekend.

The condo (part of building 1) was stuck in either the late 70's or very early 1980's.

The kitchen, though full, literally looks like something from an episode of the Brady Bunch. Just really, really old appliances except for the refrigerator. Overall, the kitchen brings the whole place down.

Regarding the bathrooms, while there's no denying it's great to have two toilets, they were also extremely outdated. The vinyl floors in the main bath, in particular, were peeling off and were also very old. Like just about everything in this home, it's original. Also there is a dark red stain on the floor reminiscent of blood. Perhaps this should be removed???

The only thing that looks new in the bathroom is the tub. At least that was modern and clean (but no shampoo by the way!) What was weird about the shower was that the force of the water was so strong the shower curtains were billowing inside the stall -- it was a like a small hurricane/windstorm.

The main bedroom was equally ugly and the linens were barely passable for a chilly, 10 degree New England night. Plus they were old and ratty. Is that anyway to treat a guest, much less a paying one????

I understand money is very tight these days but for God's sake, when you are profiting from people staying in your home, go to Target, Kohl's or similar store and get some decent sheets.

Also the bed itself appeals to be falling apart and just looks mangy.

Overall, if I was the owner I would be embarrassed to rent this out & I find it almost preposterous that they and Jiminy Peak would charge us $250 a night for this room. The overall quality was that of a 2nd or 3rd rate hotel -- where you might only pay $80 or $90 a night.

What also bugs me is that Jiminy never mentions on their website -- or on the phone during the reservations process - that there might be other options on the mountain, such as the Wyndham Resorts. But that was never mentioned.

So overall, unless you get this room for super cheap, or you are the type of people who don't care about surroundings, i.e. the type of stuff I mentioned, I would not recommend this at all, unfortunately.

Also I want to be clear and emphasize that obviously kitchen and bath renovations are expensive. However, I take issue with the rate we were charged. I would seriously like whoever deals with the condo owners at Jiminy to stroll down the hill and see the condition of this place. Hopefully they will then lower the price to a much more reasonable rate.

  • Liked — Close proximity to mountain; good to have two toilets; sense of privacy; quiet
  • Disliked — Check out my review - too many problems to list here
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stayed at Jiminy in their "condos" called the Country Village in unit 15... it was GREAT! It's a 2 bedroom unit and was the closest to the Country Inn so we had the convenience of being able to walk to the mountain but the more spacious accomodations and super convenient parking...there are 2 spots reserved next to the condo. The condo seemed newly renovated with a gorgeous kitchen with stainless appliances and granite countertops...nicer than my kitchen at home! There was a flat screen TV in the living room with 2 comfy couches and very homey decor. The bathrooms are a bit dated but clean. Noticed there are many of these condos in the country village but some are 1/2 mile + from the mountain ....we got lucky and the one we got was a very short walk to the lifts, Country Inn, Store and restaurants. The skiing was good too...lines weren't too long and the mountain wasn't too crowded. Great for families ...our 5 and 10 year olds thoroughly enjoyed the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank golfergirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
1.0 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.4 km away
Wyndham at Bentley Brook
17.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
13.6 km away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
12.0 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Village at Jiminy Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Village at Jiminy Peak

Property: Country Village at Jiminy Peak
Address: Corey Road, Hancock, MA 01237
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Village at Jiminy Peak is a quaint neighborhood of 2 and 3 bedroom vacation homes located near the base area and village center of the resort. All units have private parking and many offer decks off the back. 2 bedroom units have 1 ½ baths, while the 3 bedroom units offer 2 full baths. All come with queen size sleeper couches, and cable/satellite TV. These units are perfect for families or larger groups on vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Village At Jiminy Peak Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing