We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in all realms of a restaurant”

The Point Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Excellent service from the owner, no less. Delightful guy, telling us the story of the place and all the improvements. We sat at the window, watching the sun sink into the hills where NY and MA meet. Ambiance was excellent; food was excellent; wine list was great. Really, this is a gem in Great Barrington, on the left as Rte 7 rises to the north. Find this place! You will thank me!!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2015

Absolutely unacceptable service. While the food is perfectly good, the service is so bad that it is worth not going. We waited over an hour for our food and they knew we had 4 young hungry children. They also never came by to check on drinks even once after we got our initial round of drinks. After complaining about the service, they took off a measly $10 off the total bill which was over $180.00. Would definitely not recommend. You can do much better in the Berkshires.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank aabtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

WOW! What a superb evening! We chose a table by the window and watched the sun set. The pianist was amazing, effortlessly playing tunes of a bygone era. Just wonderful! My Swai fish with vegetables was cooked to perfection and my other halfs pork medallions were just as good. We had a bottle of wine which complimented both meals well and shared a dessert. A thoroughly enjoyable evening; relaxing, wonderful views, attentive but not overpowering service, we couldn't have asked for more.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EveningEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We were dining with another senior couple and wanted a place where we could easily hear each other. Though it was a minor holiday weekend, we were nearly the only diners. There was pleasant, live background music.

Our friends raved about the Cesar salad and my husband (a self-proclaimed connoisseur) said the meatloaf was excellent. The rest of us had the trout, which I thought was quite nice, but not memorable. We shared a pleasant cobbler.

It was not inexpensive, but The Point was ideal for our Saturday night outing.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank webwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

What a lovely dinner I had. The ambiance is a pleasing combination of elegance and relaxed country. The welcome was warm and genuine. The food was lovingly prepared. Very pleasant music accompanied my meal. It is on my must return list.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank discerningdiner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Point Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
New Marlborough, Berkshires
 

Been to The Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing