We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
259
41
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
41
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage house front porch breakfast was delicious west wing chris barb short walk b and b old house dietary needs relaxing getaway wonderful hosts modern amenities cookies wrap around porch main street downtown great barrington a wonderful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Nice place, very nice people,.great breakfasts. Good location, house dog is niceI have to keep adding stuff to my review because the review requires 200 characters and I am only at 151 characters. Now I'm at 180 characters maybe this got me over the 200.

Room tip: Garden Room's shower leaves something to be desired.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9094ZJgeorgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

On our first visit to Massachusetts, we chose the Wainwright Inn in the small town of Greater Barrington. The Inn is very charming, dating to the 1700's. Our room on the second floor was the Federal Room, and it had plenty of room, a comfortable bed, and an ensuite spacious bathroom. Although it is on a busy street, the noise in the room was minimal and we got a good night's sleep. Innkeepers Chris and Barb were the perfect hosts, with travel tips and wonderful hot breakfasts every day. This is a really great choice for a B and B if you are in the Berkshires.

Room tip: The Federal Room on the second floor was spacious with a large bathroom and separate storage area with a dresser.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Very nice, clean room in carriage house. Quiet, with good air and solid shower. The breakfasts steal the show! One morning was a goat cheese frittata, the next was creme broule French toast. Amazingly good. Convenient walking to town. Great weekend getaway!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sommersby74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

I am a former innkeeper from CA and I appreciate a loving touch. From the delicious breakfast to the clean and comfortable rooms, the Wainwright has it all. Even the sweetest black lab that loves a tummy rub was so special there. And check out their garden where you will have the freshest herbs in your eggs along with home grown tomatoes.

Room tip: We needed two beds and a refrigerator and loved the Anna Suite.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pattiplans2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you for the wonderful and most generous review! It was a great pleasure to be your hosts and we are happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again ! Take care, Chris & Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We stayed for 3 nights and the hosts were very warm and informative. The place is a great old victorian with lots of history. They have done a terrific job with restoration including the carriage house (we stayed there and it is very private).The breakfasts were great using fresh things from their garden.The location is great for outdoor activities as well as for theaters and Tanglewood.

Room tip: We liked the carriage house
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ABC123Mke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Barb & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews