We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous facility and very scenic location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Waterbury, CT, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous facility and very scenic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was a wonderful find. We stayed one night only and wished we could have stayed for a week. Leaving open our sliding glass doors, we could hear the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and could smell the briny sea air. A beautiful Inn (rooms are not in the Inn, but in separate, more modern buildings) where you can have a snack or enjoy plentiful complimentary continental breakfast (included in room price). Quiet room, never heard another guest, even though all rooms were occupied. Huge comfy king-sized bed and nice balcony to sit out and enjoy the spectacular ocean vistas. All in all, a wonderful place to stay and we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladyzukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    85
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
116
225
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in Bass Rocks Ocean Inn mid September 2011. I loved every minute of it. The service, the food, rooms, front desk women were outstanding. Hotel has bicycles to take for a ride, DVDs to watch at the end of the day, cookies to snack on and even coffee, tea and lemonade in the middle of the day for guests. Very quite and peaceful. Area is pretty and great for morning walks. There is Golf Club behind the property. Views are gorgeous. What else do you need.

Room Tip: Ocean Front House - Second floor - Patio under the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Beautiful room, with a phenomenal view. Only negative is they did not inform us we had breakfast included. became aware of it when checking out.

Very comfortable bed and pillows, upscale accomadations.

Room Tip: All have great views, your choice of top or bottom floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsue62510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Bass Rocks Inn has a gorgeous view of the ocean. The main house has a wonderful breakfast room (with a really nice assortment), all glass, great views to enjoy the mornings. Also has a game room with a pool table, lots of books and a very fast computer! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBuffalano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I loved our stay at the Bass Rocks Inn. The room was nicely appointed, and the view couldn't be beat. The hotel is located right on the short within a short drive - or even bike ride - to downtown Gloucester and Rockport. My husband and I stayed at Bass Rocks because some friends were getting married in Rockport. Though Bass Rocks is a bit more expensive than some other nearby hotels, you definitely get a better experience at BR. What seem to be fresh-baked cookies are in unending supply through the day. The breakfast in the morning is not exactly diverse, but is delicious and on par with many chain restaurants. The king bed was soooo comfortable. There is a DVD player and Direct TV in each room, giving one more than enough options if you decide to stay in. There are cruising bikes available for guests. I definitely recommend Bass Rocks, and if I ever find myself in the area again, I would definitely stay at Bass Rocks again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
2.6 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
4.7 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
8.0 km away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.9 km away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Rocks Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Property: Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Bass Rocks Ocean Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bass Rocks Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing