We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good dinner and wonderful seafood.”
Review of Rudder Restaurant

Rudder Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 149 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Went to the Rudder with our son and his fiance for a late dinner (8pm seating). Everyone enjoyed their dinners, all were served hot and tasted wonderful. We sat in the back covered deck area and the breeze was nice.
We ordered desserts, but I'd recommend bypassing these. They weren't anything special and were just lots of canned whipped cream and squeeze bottle chocolate sauce. Not worth the $$ or calories. Stop by the icecream shop just down the street instead!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobynW731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The Rudder and sister restaurant The Studio have been favorites since long before current ownership. While the feel is a little less hometown and personal as it used to be, it's a great location and the food is consistently good.
Went for a late dinner. My husband has already been to An earlier event so he ordered the calamari appetizer. It was huge and delicious. I had the 1/2 price bakes haddock. Was very good. Somehow the same meal I had at the Studio last year was a little bigger and tasiter.
A few changes I would make:
Tables are much too close together. I understand wanting to fit as many as possible but it is very embarrassing to slide between occupied chairs when rude people won't move.
May want to consider removing the faux ivy on the ceiling. It's been there for several years and looks tired. This is a restaurant in the water, not a cottage.
And...Bring back Evie's Shrimp Farci!!

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank NancyABNashvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Great atmosphere is a very cool location. Inside and the deck are both good choices. The food was well prepared and very good. The only negative which is understandable considering the location is it can be crowded and the seating can be a bit tight. I would absolutely return to this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We followed a recommendation to Rudder and had a great lunch on the deck. It was a bit overcast so good for a cooler lunch experience. We had shrimp, lobster rolls, fried haddock sandwich, and crab cakes. Service is good and ambiance is summer in New England. We will be back with guests.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

On beautiful Rocky Neck, the Rudder offers a relaxing atmosphere and great food. The view was nice from the deck.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing