We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frenchi was great. ”

The Gloucester House Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 115 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Gloucester House restaurant is renowned for its local lobster dishes and for the freshest North Atlantic seafood, prepared to perfection. Having been among the first to popularize fried calamari, our specialties range from award-winning clam chowder to homemade bread and cornbread, from Dottie's bourbon cake to Lily's wine list, and from Sambuca mussels to blackened haddock tacos to a fried fisherman's reuben sandwich. We always cook to order and have gluten free and vegetarian menus available, as well as children's meals. Dine full-service on our outdoor, dockside deck or eat lobsters in-the-rough on our harbor side wharf. Located on historic Seven Seas Wharf, there's something for everyone here: shop for souvenirs and local art at our General Store gift shop, enjoy a sail on the Schooner Thomas E. Lannon, or see the whales aboard Seven Seas Whale Watch. Whatever your fancy may be, the Linquata family invites you to join us year-round for a true taste of New England.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Lobster delicious - sea food pizza best I've had in years
Chowda real good

Worth the trip from Boston

Coming back soon
Better than Rockport

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank bossdaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have been vacationing in Gloucester for 36 years. The service and meal we had at the Gloucester House was amazing. The lobster ravioli was the best meal I had in Gloucester this year. We didn't go to the Seaport Grille this year because it gets overcrowded and very noisy ! Best decision we made!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Adifilippo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped for dinner there on our last night in Gloucester. Having been there before , we expected a good meal. The waitress took our orders and told us that the only side that night was broccoli. When the food arrived the broccoli was barely cooked and the blackened fish I ordered was so salty that I only ate a small portion. Then we overheard another waitress telling another party that the evenings sides were coleslaw, broccoli, and corn. We had to ask for refills of our water. I doubt we will be going back. There are much better places to eat in Gloucester.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank CountrygirlHDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

My husband & I enjoyed a lovely dinner as we relaxed outside on the deck. Service & meals were great. We highly recommend the clam chowder and lobster tails with butter & brown sugar. We asked for seconds on the bread also. We peeked inside at indoor dining & we're happy to see a cozy dining room with a fireplace. We will return in the colder weather also.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 August 2016

take the non beaten path to eat in this quaint little town not the main thoroughfair,very over priced not the greatest service and locals will tell you its a tourist trap.there are lobster houses and clam bars down the back roads that are a whole lot cheaper and have the best food.if you can get up before unrise you might be able to help some of the locals ont he bach go clam diggin what fun!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Gloucester House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gloucester House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.