We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best clam strips in the area”

The Gloucester House Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Gloucester House restaurant is renowned for its local lobster dishes and for the freshest North Atlantic seafood, prepared to perfection. Having been among the first to popularize fried calamari, our specialties range from award-winning clam chowder to homemade bread and cornbread, from Dottie's bourbon cake to Lily's wine list, and from Sambuca mussels to blackened haddock tacos to a fried fisherman's reuben sandwich. We always cook to order and have gluten free and vegetarian menus available, as well as children's meals. Dine full-service on our outdoor, dockside deck or eat lobsters in-the-rough on our harbor side wharf. Located on historic Seven Seas Wharf, there's something for everyone here: shop for souvenirs and local art at our General Store gift shop, enjoy a sail on the Schooner Thomas E. Lannon, or see the whales aboard Seven Seas Whale Watch. Whatever your fancy may be, the Linquata family invites you to join us year-round for a true taste of New England.
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

We just wanted to sit near the water and grab a bite to eat. Came across the Gloucester House and went in. Looks like a typical lobster shack from the outside. More of a typical seafood restaurant inside. We chose to sit out on the deck looking at the harbor.

Ordered a dozen fresh oysters ($2.50 each). Had the fried clam strips meal, and they were the best that I've had in years. I would return.

Date of visit: June 2015
2  Thank FlightSurgeon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

The lobster roll was okay, but very expensive for what we had. The chowder was good, big chunks of clam, and very creamy. The margarita was good, but because my husband instructed the bartender how to make it with fresh lime juice. Very nice to sit outside and enjoy a meal, but just average.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Danette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Great location over looking the working harbor. The service was good, the food was good, but really just average. With such high reviews I guess I expected something exceptional.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank starshine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We went on a Saturday nite had reservations. Sat in nice booth overlooking the harbor. Great selections specials every nite. Waitress pleasant warm and attentive. We always stop there for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of several local shop keepers and were not disappointed. The lobster rolls were piled high with very fresh lobster meat and the fish chowder was delicious with just enough spice to make it interesting. The ambiance was pleasant, our server was efficient even though the process was a bit slow. The have a big menu and the prices are reasonable. We'll be back!

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Gloucester House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gloucester House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.