We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborview Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Lion Motel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Manor Inn(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vista(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$267
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
78
77
31
13
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
77
31
13
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachdonutsbeautiful beachoff seasonevery summerocean viewbradkitchenettecamiparrotsrockportsunrisewavesproximitystorm
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We really enjoyed Cape Ann Motor Inn. We didn't stay long, but would definitely return. The view and proximity to the ocean are unbeatable. Yes, the local dogs seem to gather in the morning outside on the beach, but we thought that was fun. The decor is not modern, as some other reviewers suggested, but it really lends to the charm of the place. Everything was in working order and well taken care of. The stars at night are so bright and clear. We really loved it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingMamaof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Location was wonderful. Views from the 3 rd floor were fantastic. Sure there were no lifts but we were pre warned.
I felt the place could do with a major upgrade Rooms were clean But a little musty Coffee in rooms would be great. But value for money ? You bet !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Expensive for what you get! Older hotel that needs a lot of work. Our room on the third floor had a great view, but was a little disappointed in "Long Beach", not so long! Ceiling fan was wobbly, fridge wasn't very cold, one bed not very comfortable. Shower was okay. Bathroom window didn't have a screen so we couldn't open it to get cross ventilation. The kitchenette was well equipped, but looked like it had been added to a regular room, which made it seem smaller. If you don't like dogs - this place is not for you. I love them, but it was bothersome to see dogs on beds in other rooms. Do they launder the spreads and blankets each time? It didn't appear that there were rooms set aside for pets. There were a lot of dogs on the beach running loose. Room was quiet from the neighbor standpoint, but you could hear people running in the corridor outside, the sound on the wood really carried.
While I enjoyed the view and the sunrise, would find someplace else next time.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trawlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review trawlergirl, I'm sorry to hear your stay with us to not meet your expectations. We try our best to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. In response to your questions we do launder all bedding after we have had a guest at our inn with a dog. We are also in the midst of putting the screens on all of our windows now that the winter season has ended. We do hope you'll give the Cape Ann Motor Inn another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 night. The Front desk Staff are wonderful, my kids loved the talking bird. Nice clean rooms with an ocean view that is beautiful. The staff was very helpful on things in the area to do and places to eat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank skystar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review skystar99, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at here at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. We hope you come to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

This place is right on the beach in Gloucester. All rooms have an nice ocean view and shared balcony (motel style). It was very nice to sit and watch/hear the ocean from the room. Nice off- season price, as well. The room is dated but clean. The "continental" breakfast is a downer - pre-packaged, thawed danish with coffee and oj. I feel like cereal and/or a bagel toasting option are easy additions that would go a long way to making the continental breakfast much more appealing. Overall, this worked out fine for us. Would go back again in the winter or a night in summer.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LauraD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews