We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Gloucester ma”
Review of Tonno Restaurant

Tonno Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Had several meals and all were excellent
Waitstaff was experienced knowledgeable and well versed in food choices.
During the season blue fin tuna is exceptional

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ecloutier2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

I've heard of Tonno ever since it opened a few years ago but had not tried it as I heard it was a bit pricey. Our usual dining out friends (6 of us) decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. Parking is available in a free municipal lot just across the street and on a Saturday night @ 7:30 we were able to find a spot. There is not a huge waiting area but it was not a problem as our table was ready within a few minutes of arrival. We sat in a far corner with only 4 tables and it was great because it was a less noisy area than in the open restaurant. The decor was fresh and lovely. We all enjoyed our cocktails. The rolls offered to the table came warm and was delicious; a second helping was a basket of foccacia which was even better than the first basket! The menu is extensive with several specials listed. There were about 12 appetizers available from the regular menu and 3-4 from the specials menu. We ordered 3 appetizers for the table which were all delicious (squash "balls" in a white sauce, calamari .. just fried with no sauce, and mozzarella/tomatoes...all were enjoyed by all. Oysters were also ordered which were enjoyed by just a few. Equally extensive were the choices for pasta, and other entrees. Everybody ordered something different - salmon, cod, tuna, duck, fish stew, and fra diablo spaghetti....and everyone enjoyed their meal...not just ok...but all drew raves. Of all the food ordered, just the dessert cannolis were the least spectacular...but we were all so satisfied it didn't factor into the meal. Yes, the meal was pricey, but we ordered a lot of food and drinks, but more important everyone enjoyed the evening. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a simple or special dinner.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Moninski1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

My wife and I had dinner at Tonno's for a special occasion recently. The service and the food was perfect and we found a wine that happened to be their house. When you go to Tonno's treat yourself to a tasty chardonnay, Votre Sante.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

The 1st thing I noticed while waiting was the empty plates in front of diners. When our food arrived I understood why. While slightly expensive, the food was worth every penny. They specialize in seafood and pasta. The staff were friendly and professional. I will return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Went in with a friend on a Saturday night at 4:45 pm to secure a place at the bar and have some dinner. The place gets jammed the minute the doors open at 5pm. The bartender was filling in and seemed a little overwhelmed. When we asked about certain items, he had to go and ask someone else. The drinks were yummy. Our appetizer of meatballs was tasty and fresh. We both had pasta dishes and though very good, (bolognese and carbonara) were nothing spectacular, a little bland. We had espresso to round it out. We didn't feel rushed until around 6:30 p when it was really packed and we were feeling like we should free up the bar stools. The atmosphere is lovely, the other wait staff and hostesses pleasant and friendly, but it's loud as hell when it's full of people. I would suggest an early reservation to avoid the crowds. We would go again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Triplover31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tonno Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Tonno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing