We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
104
56
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
56
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique shopsdunkin donutsview of the riverfried clamsessex riverend unitcrane beachwatch the boatssparkling cleaneateries within walking distancebig bedgorgeous locationnorth shorelocal seafoodcheck in was easymorning coffeenew england
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Quaint, clean, centrally located. Not your stereotypical roadside motel! Wish room had a mini fridge though, so bring a cooler. Staff was friendly. Checkout is too early. Overall great and will definitely return!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank katyomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recently stayed in the inn portion and found it to be a very nice mixture of old and new. Beautiful antique furniture but had modern conveniences of Keurig machine, supply of water, mini-fridge, etc. The bathroom was fabulous - double shower, beautiful tile, comfy towels. Whoever renovated did a terrific job! Only a few suggestions - please put a comfortable chair in the room! It rained a lot when we were there and there was no place to hunker down and read except the bed (which was, by the way, very comfortable). And a hook in the bathroom - no place to hang anything. And a couple of more hangars. Other than these minor points - a very nice place to stay. Thanks.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sherwood350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, General Manager at Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words on your stay with us, so glad you enjoyed the design of our rooms! I really appreciate the feedback on suggestions for room enhancements and will definitely incorporate them into the room.

Thanks again!
Gayle McKinley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Centrally located Shea's provides clean rooms with a variety of amenities. We had 5 + a baby in our group and stayed in 3 rooms. The suite (in the Inn) worked perfectly for our young couple + baby and was the gathering place for all of us each evening. We planned day trips to Gloucester, Rockport, Boston etc and had a great time. The staff at Shea's was very helpful to any and all requests. Rooms are clean and well stocked with coffee, refrigerator & microwave. Dunkin Donuts is right across the street. WiFi and cell service are spotty but this is the way it is in Essex. We've stayed here many years and will continue to use this as our staging area.

Room Tip: Views of the Essex River and boating. Outside seating is wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnachapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

I sent my husband on a deep sea fishing trip and they I booked them a night at Shea’s Inn and motel. They loved it. The cottage was nice and the staff was friendly and helpful to themby telling them restaurants near by and other stuff. They had a great time! Would definitely use them again and recommend them to friends!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We stayed in the motel not the inn and could not have been happier. Where we live retro refits of motels by former rockers and Brooklyn hipsters taken with north fork (Long Island, NY) or upstate (Woodstock) are all the rage and priced at about three times Shea's in high season. Here the pleasures (including the sheltered yard chairs looking out on the river, the amazing mattresses, and office cooler of craft beers and fine wine for sale) are present tense and all that's retro is the personal welcome and open hospitality seemingly lost elsewhere. Shea staff smiles are not the forced Marriott-brand plastic ones but real and inviting, making what's "like family" elsewhere genuinely family here. The location couldn't be better, We prefer Farnham's to Woodman's for clams but walking across the street to the latter makes a convincing argument. Also across the street is the world's friendliest Dunkin Donuts, making the lack of in-room or in-office coffee no imposition but rather a pleasant early morning stroll before the 133 traffic turns bumper-to-bumper (although even at its height folks stop the moment you begin to cross). As a headquarters for visiting Gloucester and Cape Anne Shea's location couldn't be better, and even a dinner visit to Boston relatives was a simple proposition.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gayle M, General Manager at Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words!!! We work hard to make guests stays the most enjoyable and happily stay in the background for you to enjoy the grounds, your room, the charming town of Essex, but are here to help if you need suggestions on what to do in the Essex/Cape Ann area.

I do hope you'll stay with us again when your travels bring your back this way!!

Thank you!
Gayle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews