We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that wonderful”

Among The Flowers Cafe
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not that wonderful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We went to this restaurant to have breakfast, as we were told that they had great crepes - which we did not have. Our meal was mediocre at best - nothing special - just ordinary.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blaroo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    184
    41
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I twice went to Among the Flowers during our 2 day stay in Edgartown. Service, food, and sitting options were all very good. The grilled homemade muffins were excellent. If we are back in Edgartown, we will be having breakfast here again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank echines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok Breakfast, ok view, beautiful day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Took my wife to Among the Flowers. Had read reviews all where on point. We got there just in time to avoid the rush. Only had a 5 minute wait to sit outside on a beautiful Saturday morning in MV. Once we where seated friendly waitress took our orders I had french toast , coffee and bacon, wife had waffle, juice and bacon. They keep you filled up with fresh coffee. The food arrived in about 10 minutes. The fresh toast I had was better than the waffle my wife had. I do prefer to eat my food with a real knife and fork on a real plate but knew going in they give you plastic wear and paper plate, a little tacky but ok. The breakfast cost me about $27. I would just say it was ok it was nothing special, the view really is of a parking lot . We enjoyed each other more than the food. On a A- F scale it's a C. Staff was friendly, food average, view of parking lot with a wabbling table.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

It's hard to understand some of the TA reviews when they can rate this restaurant so highly. The omlettes were significantly overcooked and dry, the coffee unremarkable, the ambiance...crowded, and service just ... serviceable. On a favorable note, the menu was interesting. We just wish the food tasted like the menu read. One visit to this restaurant for breakfast was enough for us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgartown, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

ATF is a well kept secret among locals. The restaurant is owned and operated by Pat & Polly Toomey and their attention to all aspects of the business is evident from the fresh flowers on the tables to the outstanding and friendly service, and most importantly to the food on the tables. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all excellent. Pat mans the kitchen and is the only chef on duty duiring the dinner hour. Polly manages an outstanding service staff and her pleasant demeanor rubs off on the wait staff. The combination results in an outstanding dining experience. My only complaint is that it's not open all year round!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Among The Flowers Cafe also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Among The Flowers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing