We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape near all in Edgartown!”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We escaped a House rental on Chappy which did not live up to our expectations. The location in Edgartown was terrific and the balcony with views of the harbor and Chappy were terrific. Made great use of the pool and some of the desk staff were very helpful about getting around town and places to see or dine at (but not all!). The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Our large window facing the water had a failed seal and was cloudy... a real bummer since this was the money shot! They replaced the entire window two or three days into the stay. Win! While it may not have all the authentic charm of some of the other B&B's, it was centrally located, clean and a great place to stay. There are more amenities here for owners than visitors, but nothing that dampened our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemmondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Harborside Inn in the last week of October this year. We had a leisurely & wonderful vacation at this Inn which is right on the water. The property is well maintained & the rooms are clean & tidy. Many establishments are closed at this time of the year but enough shops/art galleries/restaurants etc. were open to satisfy us. This shoulder season is great for travel & we love it.
We would love to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newvisitorUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Harborside Inn is in a great location.The view from our second floor room was fantastic. Seems to be a timeshare as well as having hotel guests. Guests are made to feel like 2nd class citizens - you can't even get a glass of water though there is a kitchen with many facilities. The pool is lovely with lots of loungers and towels available. It is very expensive. You don't get breakfast - a coffee flask is available in the lobby until 11am. Reception staff were unfriendly. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinAurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We had the misfortune of getting stuck on the Vineyard on one of the busiest tourist weekends and found a room at the Harborside at the last minute. It was the only place available, but it was a waterside suite for $500 (!). What the heck, I didnt want to sleep on the street so I took it. Jeremian room 501. It was indeed a beautiful room, and a liitle patio outside by the boat dock. Can't complain about that. But the walls and ceilings were so thin -- we could hear every footstep by the people upstairs. They were not walking loudly, it was just that the ceiling construction was so thin and the rooms use a hard laminate flooring. so eveything is loud. I was woken up from a sound sleep at 6am when the folks upstairs got up. It was unbelievably loud. Also, the heating/cooling unit is located in the closet next to the bed, and this started up in the middle of the night and woke us up.

It was a beautiful hotel, but certainly not worth $500 a night.. If you stay here, I would definietly recommend a second floor room, not the first.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc_in_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Beyond the mildew smell in the hallway and the gorgeous view of Edgartown Harbor - this "Owner Run Resort" has made it all about the Owners. I would have loved access to the the six kitchen dining hall for my family of five - or the four outdoor grills and dining area - but these were available to "Owners Only". Talk about feeling like an unwelcome outsider!!!! My kids were told that soccer balls were not allowed, yet we watched as an "owner's" kids played with their ball without reprimand. Even the one available lounge area was taken several times for "owners meetings". Couldn't be happier to be home. Would not return or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank familytraveler72-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.7 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
10.4 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
1 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
8 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
4.1 km away
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
#1 of 4 in Edgartown
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: €78 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing