We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat any time of year!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat any time of year!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hmmm...I don't usually gush, but I will tell you this, Jean's Apple Pancakes are the best pancakes I have ever tasted! The delicious breakfasts were just one enjoyable facet of my recent visit to Fort Hill B&B. I was traveling solo and stayed in the Emma Suite on the first floor of the main house. Needing some restful down-time, I searched on-line and found Fort Hill B&B. It fit the bill perfectly! The private sitting room / library of the Emma Suite is relaxing with tres comfortable seating, lots of books to peruse, a flat-screen tv for movies, did I mention there's a piano, too? The bedroom: spacious and elegant. The four-poster bed was made with amazingly soft sheets. It was so easy to snuggle my way into a deep sleep. The bathroom is quite spacious as well, spa-like, with a wonderfully large shower/tub and bay window seating. The property is adjacent to easy footpath access to the National Seashore. Most importantly, this is a GREAT place to stay at ANY time of year on Cape Cod. The Cape isn't just for summertime, autumn, or spring. Winter is a beautiful time to visit the Cape! The crowds are gone. PB Boulangerie Bistro in South Wellfleet is open for business - marvelous authentic French bistro, as well as many other year-round restaurants that Jean and Gordon can recommend to you. Winter sunshine, crisp fresh air, walks along the beach, and don't forget to enjoy the main house's guest-shared living area with fireplace that is crackling away each morning when you go to the dining room for breakfast ... bliss. Come see for yourself!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
165
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I had been going to the cape for 35 years, but somehow never managed to stop at Fort Hill. I now realize that this was a mistake for multiple reasons: 1. A great Inn with warm, friendly owners, fantastic breakfasts and more. 2. Right outside are phenomenal walking/hiking trails with spectacular water views, an amazing moss-covered cedar swamp boardwalk trail, a well preserved whaling captain's house. 3. There is a nearby National Seashore Visitor center as well, plus a folk music venue and great restaurants in nearby Wellfleet. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Both rooms very nice. You can't lose here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

From their website to the accommodations, the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast is truly one of a kind. Intimate, cozy and old-world, you truly feel well cared for and that you can relax in such a wonderful atmosphere. Upon arriving, the 3 acre property is serenely set back amongst the beautiful estuaries leading out to the Atlantic Ocean. The inside is warm, inviting and wonderfully historic. Would absolutely recommend the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking to escape city life or simply their day-to-day routine for a short (or long) stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lucille room on the second floor. Very private - you have the entire second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This luxurious refuge within the National Seashore was as comfortable and clean as could be, with fleece sheets on the bed on two stormy nights. The proprietors are as personable a couple as you'll meet on the Cape. Breakfast both mornings was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 992716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, VT
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We needed a place to stay on a short business visit to the area and we left with nothing but good feelings after having stayed at Fort Hill.The home and cottage are in great shape and offer a true Cape Cod experience. The breakfasts were superb, worth a every penny, and most importantly Gordon and Jean are perfect hosts. Gordon's knowledge, both worldy and that of the local area are keen, [we received great advice on where to dine] and Jean's conversation at breakfast was wonderful with descriptions of the homes history and surrounding area. We rent out a small cabin of ours to others in Vermont, our home state, and we like to be treated when were away from our place and Fort Hill certainly treated us right. We hope to come back sometime and enjoy Gordan's and Jean's company again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRUMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
8.8 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
12.3 km away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
2.3 km away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
3.0 km away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
126 reviews
6.6 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing