We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome stay”

Review of 89-2 Salt Marsh Rd

Front Porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Porch
Dining Table and Sitting Area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Front Porch
Dining Table and Sitting Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
First Floor Bath
First Floor Bed
2nd Floor Bedroom
2nd Floor Bathroom
Open Living Room 2nd Floor w/ Views
Open Living Room 2nd Floor w/ Views
View From 2nd Floor Deck
Dune Top Deck
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
East Sandwich, Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosi0817
Moneta, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful view, great location and well keep property. We had everything we needed right there! The family had such a wonderful time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S
1 review
“This is a beautiful house that had everything we wanted in a Cape rental.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a beautiful house that had everything we wanted in a Cape rental. The decor is contemporary and tasteful, not corny. The upstairs living room is spacious with a great bay vista. There are many places to dine or hang out, including the deck above the beach. Although linens are not provided, there were quilts and other furnishings to handle any Cape weather, hats, jackets, and a raincoat as well as a great assortment of books and games. Both bedrooms were full-sized and well furnished.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolf5424
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is just what you want a beach front property to be, right on the beach, a superb deck and lounge with great views across Cape Cod. Comfortable accommodation clean and well kept. While the exterior is somewhat weather beaten this is what you would expect and want from a beach house it adds to the charm. Kitchen has no dishwasher or washing machine but that's clear on the property descriptoin and there is a laundrette in a close by town. Great place to chill out as well as convenient to tour Cape Cod . Lots of restaurants and cafe's in easy reach by car. We are from the UK and stayed after a two week East Coast tour of New York, Philedelphia, Washington and Boston so wanted somewhere to relax . Sand Dollar were great to deal with making the whole process of letting and arrival /departure simple and straight forward even from Europe!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great views
Liked least: kitchen
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soutangli...
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby condition, 'no pets'????”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in Summer 2013, flying over from the UK to re-visit the Cape and Sandwich. The property is certainly well positioned with striking views of the bay and the beach running in front of it. The sun deck is well positioned, but bring a parasol as the heat can be intense.

Rather thank being a property that is furnished and managed primarily as a holiday let, it seems more to be a second home for the owner that is also rented out. Apart from the equipment listed in the particulars, all of the cupboards, drawers and closets are filled with the owners clothes, bedding, bathroom items and paraphernalia with 'please don't use' labels attached.

The house itself is not well maintained, the garden is unkempt, the deck is rotting in places, windows neither open nor shut, and the lock on the main door on the sun deck does not work. It's also fairly worn out and a bit grubby inside. Time for a deep clean and some work to bring it up to standard.

The lease specifies 'no pets' which is fair, but the owner clearly has cats that stay at the property when they are in residence. The collection of feeding bowls / cat toys / grooming equipment makes that clear. This probably explains why in the second week of our stay, the main carpet came alive overnight with fleas. They were hopping everywhere, I have some interesting shots of them landing on my feet and ankles.

We were forced to leave the property early to seek treatment for extensive flea bites, while the managing agent had the property treated. In fairness, I did receive a partial refund, but suggest that more care should be taken by owners who seek to profit from their beachside houses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2014
Prospective tenants. Please look at all of the reviews. There are some people out there that threaten owners with bad reviews in order to get money back. This is one such person. He stayed almost the entire 2 weeks and demanded a full week refund without even allowing us to come over to verify a problem. He claims he had a problem for days, yet emailed us only after he had already gone to Boston for the final day of his trip. We did have a professional pest control person go over there and although he found no signs of active fleas but treated the property anyway. Additionally, after threatening a bad review unless he received a refund, and one was given, he posts one anyway, almost a year after his stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth...
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend your 25th wedding anniversary!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has a beautiful, 180 degree view of Cape Cod Bay and an awesome spiral staircase! It was a great place to watch both the sunrise and sunset!
We loved sitting and watching the bay in all its moods and hearing the waves crash on the shore.
Hoping to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room and view
Liked least: Kitchen could have been cleaner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,700
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18442210158
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing