We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Good First-Time Rental Experience”

Review of 41 Pochet Rd 18558

Property 18558
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property 18558
Living Area Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Property 18558
Living Area
Living Area
Kitchen
Bedroom with Queen Bed
Bedroom %352 with two twin Beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
East Orleans, Orleans, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LornaDune
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good First-Time Rental Experience”
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This was our 16th year vacationing on the Cape and my husband and I have only stayed in motels in the past. Since this was our first rental, we were somewhat apprehensive, but the rental agent at William Raveis was very helpful along the way and answered my many questions promptly and thoroughly. We especially enjoyed the quiet and privacy of this cottage, and the location wasn't too far from the town of Orleans which was convenient.

The cottage is just as pictured on the website and we loved the window-boxes planted with petunias as well as the climbing hydrangeas and roses on the side of the building. There are 2 Adirondack chairs available in the front yard which we enjoyed a couple of times, as well as a picnic table and a gas grill which we didn't use. I used the outdoor shower one time and it worked well, but I couldn't figure out why the hook to lock the door was located on the outside of the door.

The cottage is nicely, simply decorated with good lighting (excellent lighting in the bathroom) and lots of electrical outlets everywhere. The kitchen is a good size and we enjoyed the nearly full-sized refrigerator and freezer (as opposed to the tiny refrigerators/freezers we were accustomed to in motel rooms), and having a garbage disposal, and dishwasher available. There were a few cleaning issues involving the kitchen that we made the rental company aware of and may have partially been related to our renting at the end of the busy summer season.

There's one window air conditioner near the bathroom and we only needed to use it the first day, but we wondered how well it would cool the bedrooms, especially if one wanted to close their door for quiet or privacy. We brought small, portable fans that we used at night to circulate air in the bedroom, and would recommend that if you mind the heat. There are plenty of windows that are easy to open and have screens if you want fresh air.

A few things that would be appreciated would be towel racks in the bathroom rather than 4 pegs on the back of the door. We had to run a fan all night to try to dry our towels and they still weren't dry in the morning. (We couldn't hang them on the clothesline out back to dry for 3 of the days due to rain.) I would bring a folding drying rack along next time if the pegs were still there. Also, the shower only had one small space to hold a bar of soap. Our shampoo bottles and other shower necessities had to be put on the shower floor. An inexpensive plastic or stainless steel shower caddy would help a lot. There is a cabinet as well as 2 drawers under the sink in the bathroom that offered ample storage.

There's no closet in the twin room but there's one in the queen bedroom with only around 2 feet of hanging space, so if you travel heavy (pack a lot) as I do, or there are more than 2 people, it might be a problem, but there are 3-drawer dressers in each bedroom where you can put folded clothes and other items. There's a narrow broom closet with cleaning supplies in the kitchen that has 4 pegs on the door, and a bar to hang clothes in there would be helpful as a place to hang extra clothing and outerwear.

These are all just generally small issues that, if resolved, would have made our stay a little more convenient, and earn the cottage a rating of 5 stars. Overall, we were very pleased with this cute cottage, and would happily return in the future!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the privacy, and the cottage layout
Liked least: Lack of towel racks in the bathroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on Cape Cod soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Reviewed 7 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad this property fit your needs so well. Hope to see you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CT
Reviewed 23 September 2010 for a stay in July 2009

Date of stay: July 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Sep 2010
Thank you for your feed back. We try to work closely with the homeowners to make them aware of what the tenants feel would make the home more accommodating. We will follow up with this homeowner to make sure he is aware of your thoughts on a washer and dryer. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay this year and are happy to hear you plan on returning. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ma
Reviewed 27 October 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Date of stay: August 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Cheerfulness of cottage & grounds
Liked least: Stairway leading down to cottage
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Oct 2009
We are so happy you have enjoyed renting this property over the last couple of year. Thank you for your feedback we are glad that this location works well for you and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nj
Reviewed 25 October 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Date of stay: August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2009
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you found the property to be comfortable. We will let the homeowner know about the issues you had with the driveway and see if there is any way we can address this issue for next year. Thank you for renting with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.