We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belle Glos wine dinner was an elegant affair!”

Winsor House Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Winsor House Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Duxbury
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Relax with us, a charming & romantic inn located in the heart of the historic district of the quaint seaside village of Duxbury. Enjoy a gourmet dinner in our flower-filled carriage house. The beamed ceiling, wide pine floors and lovely collection of antiques add to the cozy charm as you savor the delicious specialties. After dinner, retire to the pub to enjoy cordials or step outside for a perfect ending by the fire pit. During the summer months, the garden patio is open for your dining pleasure.
Reviewed 9 March 2018

The dinner put on by the Winsor House chef last night was a true triumph. He had obviously worked with the representatives from the winery to pair each course with their wines, and he succeeded on each one. The one oyster that began the evening was an elegant presentation with apple and cucumber that went well with the champagne. This was followed by salmon tartar dressed with King crab and avocado and an Oregon rose. Next came scallops with crispy pork belly and pears accompanied by a wonderful Napa Quilt Chardonnay; The duck with seared foie gras, parsnips and rhubarb came with our favorite Belle Glos Pinot Noir and finally we had prime beef sirloin with Escargots de Bourgogne and bone marrow. The beef was served with a Napa Quilt Cabernet Sauvignon. Are you hungry yet? The appearance and quality of each course left us in awe and the ways the wines paired with the food made each bite even more special. It is our hope that the Winsor House will continue to explore other wineries and pair their excellent food with wines new to our area. Eating our way through the evening was a wonderful education!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

The original restaurant is in an historic home as is their very cozy pub. They have a newer room and a beautiful outdoor dining Ning area which we love in the summer. The menu changes throughout the year and they offer some unusual and delicious dishes. But their burger is fantastic also.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank PatrickMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The expanded structure fits in nicely with the original building.
The dining area we dined in had comfortable window seats looking out on a lovely outdoor patio. The barn board paneled walls gave a warm feeling to the openness of the room.
We both had the New England Clam Chowder which was excellent, and the other items we had were generally good. The wait staff was efficient and friendly.
We had a great time.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Blacktrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Came across Winsor House Inn as we sought a place for dinner after visiting the impressive Duxbury Bridge. Although there was a fairly major party being hosted in the grounds, we were facilitated with a table almost immediately. Staff were very friendly, attentive and prompt. The steaks and lamb dishes were excellent and we struggled to share a single Eton Mess dessert, only because our main dishes didn't really leave much space!
We didn't find too many restaurants open in duxbury, but no matter; if you can get yourself to Winsor House you probably won't want to go any further!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Diarmuidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Was mainly looking for a restaurant that serves Island Creek oysters. This place had a Sunday special of $1/oyster. Great!! Had my doz and they were spectacular. My wife had the bolegnese and said it was the best she'd ever had and she's had plenty. Quite a commentary. Only down side was drinks were very expensive: $14.00 for a standard GG martini. Not a big pour either. A bit pricey I thought. Would definitly return.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank dinerdelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winsor House Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Winsor House Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing