We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princess Royale Resort
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Boardwalk(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Plaza Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,921)
Filter reviews
2,921 results
Traveller rating
1,628
800
232
105
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,628
800
232
105
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolocean frontconvenience storebedroom condoarcade gamesparking garageoff seasonfull kitchenhot tubbeach accessfamily vacationocean city marylandschooneratriumtubsbalconyboardwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,653 - 2,658 of 2,921 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The hotel was very nice in comparison to other Ocean City hotels. Yes, some of it was run down, but that's common in OC. The All You Care to Eat Buffet was pretty pricey for its limited selection. The Schooners restaurant was nice for a quick lunch. We thought the water of in the indoor pool was too cold for us. My husband's biggest complaint about the resort was the lack of English speaking staff. He didn't feel they were helpful with directions or suggestions of places to go. I thought all the staff I encountered was very friendly. I would definately stay in the Princess Royale again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2009

Thank you for your review and comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you were "satisfied overall". Our guest's comments are quite important to us and please be assured that your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate staff.

We regard to "lack of English speaking staff", we, like most large establishments in Ocean City, depend very much on the seasonal foreign exchange students. In fact, representatives of our management take the extra step to actually travel to these countries in the winter to select the staff for the next season so that we ensure the hiring of students with the best job skills as well as command of the English language; which also quickly improves during their brief stay. We feel that it is rather impressive that within 12 short weeks these students accomplish all the many aspects of the job responsibilities, guest service, currency and much more. However, there is also always a core staff of fluent English speaking staff available in each department to assist with any occasional language barrier.

I am at a bit of a loss regarding which part of the hotel that you felt was "run down" however and would be interested in hearing your thoughts elaborating on that as we did, in fact, renovate all 310 one bedroom suites in 2008.

Thank you again for your review as well as your patronage. We hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that you will allow us the opportunity to once again serve your hospitality needs.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

My husband and I, along with our 2 children and parents booked 2 rooms. When we arrived, we were given 2 keys. One of them was to a room that was already occupied! We went back down to the front desk to straighten out the mess which took another 30 minutes. This was very disappointing because we had just come a long way and wanted to get settled and get back out. While waiting at the front desk, another guest asked if he could just check in quickly, and one of the people at the front desk snapped back, "Yes- you and everyone else here." That comment was simply unprofessional.
One night, my husband called the front desk to ask a simple question and it took the staff a half hour to get back to us. Finally, we ordered room service to both rooms on the last day. It was 15 minutes late. The quality of the food was poor, the fruit that we ordered was rotten and they forgot to bring us coffee. When our coffee was finally bought up to the room, they forgot everything else to go with the coffee. We plan on sending the hotel their questionaire to help them improve for future guests. I know from reading other reviews, that the management at Princess Royale makes excuses for poor service. There is no excuse for the nonsense we encountered on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartaKendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

We certainly regret that you were not pleased with our Front Desk service during your recent stay. As your review did not mention, however, I trust you were pleased with all other aspects of your stay such as your suite and our many amenities

With all due respect, there are no "excuses" provided. Rather we provide explanations for what sometimes are valid reviews and what sometimes are inaccurate and/or exaggerated reviews.

I will not offer an "excuse" for the Front Office staff. They checked hundreds of guests in and out daily and yes, they very rarely make an error; and for that I apologize. I assure however, they do their absolute best-- especially when guests are anxious to check in well before our posted 4pm check-in time. In fact, I am quite proud of our Front Office staff.

With regard to the guest that "wanted to checkin quickly", the correct comment was that he wanted to checkin "early". And, it was correctly explained to that guest, in a professional manner, that the vast majority of our guests would also like to check in early and that simply is not possible when needing to clean 338 units between the hours of 11am and 4pm. And, our housekeeping staff does and excellent job regarding that as well.

Again, I certainly regret that you were not pleased. I sincerely hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that your accomodations and service exceed your every expectation.

Thank you.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale Condo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Having stayed here once before, we became repeat guests on this trip, and can't wait for our third visit. We booked an oceanview king and had the good fortune to be right in the middle on an upper floor with a great view of the bay and the ocean. Our first trip we were second floor oceanfront which was amazing and overlooked the nicely manicured lawn and swaying palm trees. (We didn't use the indoor pool/restaurants)

The room was clean and smelled fresh with the most comfortable king bed, flat screen, nice furniture, kitchenette, and front room with sofa bed and TV. (some complain this room is dark and drab, but it is a nice room--see photo!) The rooms are huge by hotel standards and the master bedroom is situated next to the balcony so you hear no sounds from the hallway at night. It was in fact very quiet at night for mid-August and was just as quiet when we first stayed there over Columbus Day weekend last year.

Specific things we love about the PR: beach right at your door, tasteful live music in the afternoon on the patio which you could hear on the beach, well groomed lawns and beautiful palm trees, shower room after a day on the beach (after you've checked out), lobby decor is just classic, fun gift shop, in-hotel convenience store and their helpful and friendly staff, walkability to restaurants, and of course, the rooms with wonderful AC in hot humid August! (we didn't use the fitness center/restaurants/indoor pool.)

Just a few things which could use improvement: first and foremost the front desk staff could use a lot of friendliness and customer service training, we could not get wireless in our room or anywhere in the hotel (not even in the atrium where the signal is supposedly strongest), and the elevators are a little on the slow side. But honestly, I didn't care !!! Our room was great and I was at the beach!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tachiebluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your past patronage and look forward to seeing you on your next visit as well.

Please be assured that your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate staff.

Thank you again for your comments and patronage. See you at the beach next time!

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We just got home from a short get away to OC.
The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful.Good stretch of beach steps from the hotel,close enough to everything and far enough away to be quiet.I will not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Mgr at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City, Maryland.

Thank you again,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This was a our first vacation to Ocean City, Maryland. I picked this hotel because it was on the waterfront and had a full size refrigerator. The refrigerator and kitchen area was nice and full sized. The hotel was conveniently close to many great restaurants and of course the beach was great and it was away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. The service from the bellhops was good. Everyone else was just OK to indifferent. A lot of young looking youths worked the front desk and pool areas. There is a warning that if the room smelled like cigarette smoke after your stay that you would be charged $200.00. The only problem with this is that the hallways and rooms seem to already have the stench of cigarette smoke from many years past, probably from a time when smoking was still allowed. My unworn clothes have the smell of cigarettes when I came back home. I DO NOT blame the hotel in this regard. People smoke. What can we do. The carpeting in the hallways looks worn out but the furniture inside was new looking and the matresses are top notch tempurpedic. All in all, it was a comfortable stay, but some may find the clash of new and old and cheesy a bit hard to swallow. Although the staff would probably have been helpful If I had called them, an extra roll of toilet paper would have been nice to see in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NonPickyVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Manger at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2009

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I especially enjoyed your user ID!

Guest satisfaction is our utmost concern. Our guests comments are important to us and we very much appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your thoughts.

With regard to the smell of smoke, I am at a loss regarding the hallways. In 2006 and 2007 the only floor on which smoking was permitted was the 2nd floor. However, as of February 2008, the property had been 100% smoke free. And, in the spring of 2008 all the suites were remodeled. I can only assume that the previous guests in your suite did not, unfortunately, adhere to the posted nonsmoking policy. Of course, we would prefer if all guests were respectful of the policies but that simply is not always the case. However, as you correctly stated, there is a $200.00 fee for smoking anywhere on the property and the vast majority of our guests are respectful of this policy which is for the comfort of all guests and staff. In fact, the nonsmoking policy has been met with overwhelming positive comments.

Thank you again and I hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that you will allow us the opportunity to once again serve your hospitality needs.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews