We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Getaway!”
Review of Lake Pointe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Pointe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 McHenry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I first went to the Lake Pointe Inn last June (2011). Since then we returned two other times (late-September and mid-December). All the rooms are uniquely nice and cozy. There are things to do (canoes, bikes, etc.), but it's also nice to just hang out inside by the fireplace or out on the wrap around porch when the weather is warmer. Such a nice place, easy to get to from Pittsburgh, and the innkeeper the staff are fabulous! We also enjoyed Steve, the pontoon captain who took us on "tours" of the Lake every evening (we missed that in December!).

Room Tip: Check out the website! You can view each of the rooms; they look EXACTLY as shown on the website!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaMoonTownship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Lake Pointe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

It doesn't get any better! This B&B is flawless. Ed, the proprietor, makes you feel like his every minute is dedicated to making certain each guest is pampered to tears. The facility is stunning -- our "Glotfelty Room" had a seperate sitting area, balcony, gas fireplace visible from both the sitting room and bedroom, and views of both Deep Creek Lake and Wisp Resort Ski slopes.
Every amenity you could possibly want -- snacks, beverages, fantastic personalized breakfast,etc all included in the price.

A stunning historic property, even the most discriminating world travelers (like us) couldn't find a thing not to like.

Thanks Ed and crew.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but we think the rooms with the sitting areas are worth the little extra that th...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winecounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Went went to Lake Pointe Inn to celebrate my husbands birthday and as a Christmas gift to our two daughter's and their boyfriends. We booked 3 wonderful rooms at the Inn. We arrived to fresh baked chocolate cookies and other goodies in the dining room. Wine was set out and horderves shortly thereafter. We had rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Savage was ours and loved it as much as we did the first time we stayed here. Our daughter's were in the Glotfelty and Buffalo Marsh rooms. Each has it's own excellence. We all gathered in our room a few times to play games and visit. We all loved our bath experiences, balcony's(2 of us) and the wonderful breakfast's we were served each day. Roasted marshmallows the first night in the fire pit, rained but visited area sites and snowed the 2nd night. All the amenities at Lake Pointe are excellent, top notch. Wisp is right across the street and Deep Creek Lake right out back. Can't wait to return. So comfortable, hospitable and relaxing. Glad we could share this with our adult daughters and their mates. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All three room that we booked were superb. We love the Savage because of the 3rd floor and balcony...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANWAY03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

One of our favorite getaway destinations - excellent rooms, free beverages and cookies, wonderful breakfast - free use of canoes - the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My Boyfriend took me on a short get away to Lake Pointe Inn. Although it is pretty and the rooms are nice, It is WAY over priced. $300 a Night....This is not the Hilton!! Signs on the back of the door restrict when the Jacuzzi tubs can be used, We could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room, kept us up half the night. We found the maid to be nosy and intrusive. The property is NOT what is depicted in their ads.....it is in the middle of a development not a secluded place on the lake. They do offer free internet and a computer to use but we could not get it to work and there is no staff on property in the evening, so if you need help your stuck. This was an okay trip, could have spent the money more wisely on a much better place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.8 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
23.5 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
73 reviews
25.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
301 reviews
7.0 km away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
7.6 km away
Carmel Cove Inn at Deep Creek Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pointe Inn

Address: 174 Lake Pointe Dr, McHenry, MD 21541-1534
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in McHenry
Price Range: €227 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Pointe Inn (catering to adults-children must be 16 or older), in the Lake Pointe community at McHenry, Maryland, is perched at water's edge on Deep Creek Lake, and offers all the comforts and amenities of a fine bed and breakfast. The two-course breakfast includes a hot entree from one of the inn's unique recipes. Also available are cold cereals, homemade granola, muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, teas, coffees, cocoas and a selection of five juices, including orange juice squeezed from oranges at the inn. Explore the lake's 65-mile shoreline, or hike in the several state parks. Relax with home-made marshmallows at the outdoor fire pit or sit in a rocker on the wrap-around porch, and you enjoy the expansive view. Swim and lounge at the inn dock in summer. Ski, tub and ice skate at Wisp (just across the road) in winter, or put on the inn's snowshoes and make tracks on the frozen lake. Warm up in the sauna, the steam shower or in front of the big stone fireplace in our native chestnut paneled great room. Check out inn bikes to tour the area, or take a canoe/kayak out on the water. Enjoy an evening lake tour on our pontoon boat (mid-May to mid-October, conditions permitting). Visit Frank Lloyd Wright's famous houses, Falling Water and Kentuck Knob, both less that an hour away. The inn offers complimentary hors d'oeuvres and wine each evening. A wide selection of complimentary beverages, fruit, snacks and homemade chocolate chip cookies are available 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Pointe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pointe Hotel Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing