We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. I loved that I could open the window for fresh mountain air. Great water pressure in the shower. The interior of the hotel needed painting and the hallway floor felt weird, like the center board needed to be tacked down. We chose to eat out for breakfast as the hotel only provided cereal, toast, juice & coffee. Good wifi service. Overall, a very nice hotel and enjoyable stay. It was sold out the weekend of our stay but was quiet. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Very convenient to Frostburg and Cumberland.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, General Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to take our survey. I'm very glad to hear you had a nice stay, I will inform the staff to keep up the good work. I'll get with the owner to see about getting the outside of the building done and getting someone to come in and check the flooring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2016

I had a third floor room and was very quiet. The room itself was very clean and looked to be recently updated. I heard no hallway noise and no sounds from either of the neighboring rooms. The bed was soft and nice and overall the room was very clean. When I arrived the hotel professional that greeted me was very pleasant and helpful. Thank you very much!!!! Will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, General Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Thank You for taking the time to take our survey. I'll be letting our housekeeping staff to keep up the good work and to continue to work hard. I'll let the front desk know that they did a very good job and use this to make sure all other staff knows what needs to be done to make our guest happy. Thank You again and hope to see you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

In dire need of updating. Carpets feel greasy and the beds are old. I couldn't find the TV remote control which is negligent on part of management. I guess the price was fair but that doesn't mean abusing standards. Econo Lodge should monitor their hotels more.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Bader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Sorry that you were displeased with your stay. We will look into getting carpets professionally cleaned. Will get on our housekeepers to make sure they are checking every room for remotes. Will let the owner know that we need to start replacing beds. Tanks so much for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

If I could rate this place a zero I would!When we made our reservations we were told that there was only 2 rooms left. My family and I have traveled 6 hours to visit family over the holiday. My fiancé had went outside to make sure his keycard worked and found out that all he had to do was push the door open it wasn't even locked... We had to literally push all of our weight into the door just to make sure it was lock, then from the outside we had to pull the door. When we got to our room we were in disgust we have NEVER felt so dirty!!!! The carpet was filthy, comforters had holes in them. The ice bucket had left over water in it and appeared to have mold on the lid. No toilet seat covers. We walked around in our shoes and I was half tempted to sleep in them. The next morning I woke up from not being able to breathe. There is something in the ac/heater that I'm allergic to. I took my daughter down to their "breakfast" and our options was cereal/donut and juice or coffee. Sorry that is an everyday breakfast at school. It is not worth the money nor my health to stay here. This place needs to be condemned for health and safety reasons and something else needs to be built!!!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, asst. manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

I'm so very sorry for your very bad stay. We are sorry for the locks but they are shipped out to be fixed, we are just waiting on their return. I will be looking into the housekeeping staff, we may need to do some new hiring to fix our housekeeping issue. We have never had toilet seat covers but that is something we can look into getting. Again I'm very sorry you had a terrible stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The location of the hotel is good. The hotel is way past its prime and really needs updating. The security lock on the side door is broken, and was taped over. It felt like there were holes in the 2nd floor hallway- that were carpeted over. It was a serious trip hazard. The room had a really dirty feel to it, like everything needed to be steam cleaned. There was a real minimal breakfast- no coffee pot in the room, the alarm clock was broken, the old tv did not have a working clicker, and our room door did not latch unless you pulled it shut. Lots of construction workers stay there, and hang out at tables outside smoking.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bikeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The locks have been sent away to be fixed that is why they are taped over. Thank you for letting me know about the carpets we will be calling to get those cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
1 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
7.2 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
700 reviews
1.3 km away
Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
244 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland

Address: 12310 Winchester Rd SW, LaVale, MD 21502 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range: €45 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles from the charming Victorian town of Cumberland, with its dozens of shops, cafes, art galleries and historic sites, Motel 6 LaVale-Cumberland has something for everyone! Country Club Mall is just ½ mile away, while the Fairgrounds, George Washington’s Headquarters, Memorial Hospital, Allegany County Museum, Evergreen Mansion/Museum, Allegany Art Gallery, Allegany College of Maryland, Sacred Heart Hospital, Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, Bell Towers, Frostburg State University, and Rocky Gap Golf Resort are all within 10 minutes of this hotel! For swimming and rafting fans, Deep Creek Lake and River Adventures are just ½ hour away New Renovations are underway! Stop back to see us! we offer free coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavale Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lavale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing