We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

In dire need of updating. Carpets feel greasy and the beds are old. I couldn't find the TV remote control which is negligent on part of management. I guess the price was fair but that doesn't mean abusing standards. Econo Lodge should monitor their hotels more.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Bader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Sorry that you were displeased with your stay. We will look into getting carpets professionally cleaned. Will get on our housekeepers to make sure they are checking every room for remotes. Will let the owner know that we need to start replacing beds. Tanks so much for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

If I could rate this place a zero I would!When we made our reservations we were told that there was only 2 rooms left. My family and I have traveled 6 hours to visit family over the holiday. My fiancé had went outside to make sure his keycard worked and found out that all he had to do was push the door open it wasn't even locked... We had to literally push all of our weight into the door just to make sure it was lock, then from the outside we had to pull the door. When we got to our room we were in disgust we have NEVER felt so dirty!!!! The carpet was filthy, comforters had holes in them. The ice bucket had left over water in it and appeared to have mold on the lid. No toilet seat covers. We walked around in our shoes and I was half tempted to sleep in them. The next morning I woke up from not being able to breathe. There is something in the ac/heater that I'm allergic to. I took my daughter down to their "breakfast" and our options was cereal/donut and juice or coffee. Sorry that is an everyday breakfast at school. It is not worth the money nor my health to stay here. This place needs to be condemned for health and safety reasons and something else needs to be built!!!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Tasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, asst. manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

I'm so very sorry for your very bad stay. We are sorry for the locks but they are shipped out to be fixed, we are just waiting on their return. I will be looking into the housekeeping staff, we may need to do some new hiring to fix our housekeeping issue. We have never had toilet seat covers but that is something we can look into getting. Again I'm very sorry you had a terrible stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The location of the hotel is good. The hotel is way past its prime and really needs updating. The security lock on the side door is broken, and was taped over. It felt like there were holes in the 2nd floor hallway- that were carpeted over. It was a serious trip hazard. The room had a really dirty feel to it, like everything needed to be steam cleaned. There was a real minimal breakfast- no coffee pot in the room, the alarm clock was broken, the old tv did not have a working clicker, and our room door did not latch unless you pulled it shut. Lots of construction workers stay there, and hang out at tables outside smoking.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bikeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The locks have been sent away to be fixed that is why they are taped over. Thank you for letting me know about the carpets we will be calling to get those cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I tend to go to cheap hotels. So I opted to drive five miles outside Cumberland for this property. It looks a little dirty on the outside, but it is what is on the inside that counts. The door to the office sticks. They don't bother to put a sign up, so it appears that the door is locked when it really isn't. They apparently sell their rooms by the month, so there were people outside that probably lived there. The inside room was nice. There was a view of the mountains if you looked for it. There were a number of options for food in the area, but Applebee's is the closest. The door to the stairway says that you need a card to enter, but you didn't. It was probably kept unlocked for the monthly tenants. I liked the free wifi, even though it occasionally dropped. Also liked that they had a microwave and refrigerator. They offer a "continental" breakfast, which basically means cereal and juice. I skipped it and went to the Bob Evans down the street. There is also a Denny's within driving distance.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwriter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank You for taking the time to take our online survery. Sorry that the front door seemed like it was look I will make sure we have a sign to put up so guest know we r open. I will also look into the side door to make sure that gets taking care of. thanks for letting us know your concerns. We will do everything we can to fix those issues and to make the guest stay enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We have stay here several times before because it was worth paying $55.86. Every other time I said that the rooms are ok for the price and just a place to lay your head..This time I would have sleep on the floor if the carpert was cleaner..The beds in this room was so bad I didn't sleep good at all and had to drive 6 hours the next morning...The shower head also was very poor needs to be clean...I told the front desk person that morning and all she could say was I will tell the maintence man..WHat she said about the beds if I say it,it might get her in trouble...(ie thats the owner for you) so I think that I will look for another place to stay like the Super 8 which is just around the coner..Yes, I know I will have to pay allittle more but that it might be better because maybe I can get a good nite sleep...So if you do stay here don't stay in room 330 not unless you don't want to sleep and freeze when you turn the a/c because it has no knob on it...

Room Tip: If you stay on the even side make sure you keep yoour curtain close...face parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara D, Manager at Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
1 km away
Best Western Braddock Inn
7.2 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
700 reviews
1.3 km away
Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
244 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland

Address: 12310 Winchester Rd SW, LaVale, MD 21502 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range: €45 - €49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles from the charming Victorian town of Cumberland, with its dozens of shops, cafes, art galleries and historic sites, Motel 6 LaVale-Cumberland has something for everyone! Country Club Mall is just ½ mile away, while the Fairgrounds, George Washington’s Headquarters, Memorial Hospital, Allegany County Museum, Evergreen Mansion/Museum, Allegany Art Gallery, Allegany College of Maryland, Sacred Heart Hospital, Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, Bell Towers, Frostburg State University, and Rocky Gap Golf Resort are all within 10 minutes of this hotel! For swimming and rafting fans, Deep Creek Lake and River Adventures are just ½ hour away New Renovations are underway! Stop back to see us! we offer free coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 LA Vale-Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavale Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lavale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing