We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious brunch ”

Backfin's Creole de Graw
Reserve with OpenTable
Backfin's Creole de Graw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Description: Casual dinning restaurant with New Orleans flare. Open 11 am, Wednesday thru Sunday, serving lunch & dinner along with daily happy hour. House smoked meats
Restaurant details
Description: Casual dinning restaurant with New Orleans flare. Open 11 am, Wednesday thru Sunday, serving lunch & dinner along with daily happy hour. House smoked meats
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We were seated fairly quickly. Matt was our server and an Eagles fan. We had filet eggs Benedict with sweet potato tots that were dusted with cinnamon sugar and the special omelette with alligator sausage and shrimp with cheesy grits. Everything was delicious. No coke products but we did have a Bloody Mary and glass of prosecco. Street parking wasn’t a problem on Sunday afternoon. Service was friendly and attentive.

Thank JPSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Backfin's Creole de Graw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so incredibly thrilled to hear this! Thank you for the awesome feedback and we can't thank you enough for the kind words! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

After reading the reviews, we headed here for lunch upon our arrival in Havre de Grace. This restaurant is on the opposite side of town from the Promenade and the Light House, in a mixed neighborhood of residential homes, inns, small businesses, and restaurants. There are a few on the street parking spaces, but also a small lot across from the rear of the restaurant. All are free.

The restaurant has many of the cajun dishes you would find in New Orleans -- jambalaya, po-boys, and many cajun entrees. We each chose the crabcake instead -- the sandwich with sweet potato tots, and the house salad with a crabcake on top. The salad came with greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, and croutons. I chose the hard boiled egg vinaigrette which was quite tasty. The crabcake was huge, nicely seasoned, and mostly crab !

The biggest surprise of the meal was the sweet potato tots -- coated with brown sugar. They almost were a dessert, but very delicious.

Was this an inexpensive lunch -- no. But it was worth the trip and the cost. The service was great, the food delicious, and the atmosphere casual but still upscale. Next time the shrimp and grits !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Backfin's Creole de Graw, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are so glad you we able to see the value and efforts of our staff! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Havre de Grace has been called the Cape May of Upper Maryland. It's Victorian charm and classic downtown area draws in an often discerning crowd. At the same time this is an Upper Chesapeake Waterman's town that sees most folks in shorts and canvas boat shoes.

Backfin's caters to all of these. The decor and atmosphere is upscale casual. Lots of wine offerings on stainless steel racks behind the bar. And needless to say, great seafood.

There are a lot of hard, flat surfaces in the restaurant, so the sound level can get up there a little. However, it never drowns out table conversation or the waitstaff standing next to you.

It's casual, relaxing, a little chic and presents a great plate of food. The staff is attentive, as they should be. And after paying a nice little premium on the bill, you are still left feeling you've gotten good value for the money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MysteryTraveler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Backfin's Creole de Graw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Wow, this makes us so happy! Thank you so much for joining us! And thank you os much for the awesome review! It means the world to us because we only want to serve the best experience to our amazing guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent meal, excellent service! You must try the sweet potato tots and the crab mac and cheese. If I lived closer ( I am in Northern Delaware) I would be a regular diner. You cannot go wrong with any selection. I am planning another trip soon. The shrimp and grits are calling my name!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mercedia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Backfin's Creole de Graw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

KUDOS, excepted! Thanks for such a wonderful review and we can't wait to see you make that trip again to either one of our locations!
Regards, Chef Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Food with a Cajun kick! Excellent atmosphere and service. Couldn’t go wrong for an anniversary dinner. Food was delicious.

Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S, Owner at Backfin's Creole de Graw, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

We are so glad to be part of your special evening! We look forward to your next visit at either one of our locations. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backfin's Creole de Graw also viewed

 
Havre de Grace, MD
 

Been to Backfin's Creole de Graw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing